IE alternatives (yes im being forced to) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > Internet Software and Browsers
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-01-2018, 03:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,010
Send a message via AIM to raverx3m
Default IE alternatives (yes im being forced to)

I tried to hang on for longest but it seems like IE is not supported by almost anything anymore
and its getting more and more crippled by webpages that are not optimized for it anymore

so yes I'm forced to switch now to a different browser
( IE you will always be my first love)

when I did some searching it seems like chrome is the most popular browser but a lot of people agree that its not the best for privacy since its GOOGLE and google is not known for respecting people's privacy just like facedookie.

what are my options if I want better privacy than chrome? or is it in settings somewhere that I can make that browser better with privacy settings?


unless there are unofficial updates that can make IE last a little longer?
anything will help lol
__________________

__________________
I HATE FIREFOX!!!!!!!I don't care if its what you use!!! I use IE and will continue using it...
(64 bit win7)(6gb dual chnl ram)( Gigabyte EP43-UD3L)(Q8400-2.67ghz Core2 Quad)
(120gb SSD 840 PRO)(4 tb WD storage)(GeForce GTX 650Ti (GV-N65TOC-2Gi)
raverx3m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2018, 03:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
The strange one
 
iParanormalx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: US
Posts: 1,277
Default Re: IE alternatives (yes im being forced to)

THE DAY OF JUDGEMENT IS ALMOST UPON US!
__________________

__________________
iParanormalx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2018, 07:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 29,322
Default Re: IE alternatives (yes im being forced to)

Edge isn't bad, but I'd say Opera.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2018, 08:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,010
Send a message via AIM to raverx3m
Default Re: IE alternatives (yes im being forced to)

so no way to make chrome less invasive to privacy with settings or addons?
__________________
I HATE FIREFOX!!!!!!!I don't care if its what you use!!! I use IE and will continue using it...
(64 bit win7)(6gb dual chnl ram)( Gigabyte EP43-UD3L)(Q8400-2.67ghz Core2 Quad)
(120gb SSD 840 PRO)(4 tb WD storage)(GeForce GTX 650Ti (GV-N65TOC-2Gi)
raverx3m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2018, 08:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,463
Default Re: IE alternatives (yes im being forced to)

You may hate it but I still say Firefox. Especially now with the new builds as it is faster than Chrome.
__________________
Cougar MX330-G / Antec EA650 650W / ASUS GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5 / AMD Ryzen 5 1600 / MSI B350 Gaming Plus
Samsung 970 EVO 250GB M.2 SSD / WD Blue SSD 250GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x16GB Corsair Vengence RGB / Win10 Pro x64 / Mionix Naos 7000 / Tecware 87 Key Mechanical

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2018, 09:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 29,322
Default Re: IE alternatives (yes im being forced to)

Quote:
Originally Posted by raverx3m View Post
so no way to make chrome less invasive to privacy with settings or addons?
To my knowledge you can't completely turn off Google telemetry because you're using their software. Chrome eats up way more RAM, and Opera does provide their own built in VPN.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2018, 11:36 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,010
Send a message via AIM to raverx3m
Default Re: IE alternatives (yes im being forced to)

what about firefox?
lol
i guess if i have no choice i woudl use that

my main problem with it is delay when loading and clicking links
IE is noticeably faster during startup and loading pages
i notice it and it irritates me alot thats why i havent used it besides reenderign pages differently
when i used to make pages it was a pain in the *** to make them look excactly same
IE was my favorite because of reendering pages was pretty much standard
the fonts buttons lines colors etc. im used to that
even now default is everything different in firefox (im looking at it right now ahd fn hate it)
__________________
I HATE FIREFOX!!!!!!!I don't care if its what you use!!! I use IE and will continue using it...
(64 bit win7)(6gb dual chnl ram)( Gigabyte EP43-UD3L)(Q8400-2.67ghz Core2 Quad)
(120gb SSD 840 PRO)(4 tb WD storage)(GeForce GTX 650Ti (GV-N65TOC-2Gi)
raverx3m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2018, 06:03 AM   #8 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,463
Default Re: IE alternatives (yes im being forced to)

You can customize almost everything in FF which is why I have used it for so many years. A quick Google search will show you what/where to change the fonts and stuff like that, and you can either right click one of the toolbars or click the hamburger and choose "Customize" where you can add, subtract, and drag and drop elements of the browser itself. I just have the bookmark toolbar on mine, but I have it rather customized (not as much as it used to be because FF53 changed how extensions go and I lost several).
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Firefox.jpg (109.4 KB, 3 views)
__________________
Cougar MX330-G / Antec EA650 650W / ASUS GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5 / AMD Ryzen 5 1600 / MSI B350 Gaming Plus
Samsung 970 EVO 250GB M.2 SSD / WD Blue SSD 250GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x16GB Corsair Vengence RGB / Win10 Pro x64 / Mionix Naos 7000 / Tecware 87 Key Mechanical

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2018, 01:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,660
Default Re: IE alternatives (yes im being forced to)

If you want Chrome without the Google integration, install Chromium. Chrome is a customized version of it.

There's also Vivaldi, Opera, FireFox, etc.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Being forced to use proxy server. spcmegreg Viruses, Spyware and Malware 1 09-16-2014 08:39 AM
Bridging + Forced Host on Halo 2/Xbox Live doC47 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 0 10-03-2005 07:30 PM
yes yes...hello! LunaCrist New Member Introductions 5 04-28-2004 03:10 AM
Forced resolution Bennzor Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 03-06-2004 05:59 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.