Fixing Firefox memory leak - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > Internet Software and Browsers
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-18-2006, 11:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,446
Default Fixing Firefox memory leak

I came across this the other day and went ahead and used it.

I haven't been monitoring my mem usage, but FF seems to be operating better since.

http://spartanedge.com/blogs/spartanedge12/?p=16
__________________

__________________
Cougar MX330-G / Antec EA650 650W / ASUS GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5 / AMD Ryzen 5 1600 / MSI B350 Gaming Plus
Samsung 970 EVO 250GB M.2 SSD / WD Blue SSD 250GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x16GB Corsair Vengence RGB / Win10 Pro x64 / Mionix Naos 7000 / Tecware 87 Key Mechanical

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 03-08-2006, 05:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 233
Send a message via AIM to FunkMaster66
Default

thenx for the tip.
__________________

__________________
Amd Sempron 2500+
ECS K7VTA3 mobo
1 gig Ram
Asus N6600
Antec 300 Watt PSU
19\" LCD
Logitech Mouse & Keyboard
Antec SOHO sx1030 Server
FunkMaster66 is offline  
Old 03-28-2006, 03:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 225
Send a message via Yahoo to brrymnvette
Default

Didn't help me. I'm at 465k so far today.
brrymnvette is offline  
Old 04-07-2006, 02:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 118
Default

hmm that helped a bit but i found a few of the fixes couldnt be done o.O
__________________
<img src=http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v179/infernicus/infernicus_signature_5-1.jpg>
Infernicus is offline  
Old 05-04-2006, 01:55 AM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,446
Default

Found another fix. I went ahead and implimented it, but am now running with 2 gig of RAM, so I wouldn't notice anyway.

Here's a link to the page where the guy explains what to do... it's very simple, and you get to define how much RAM FF can use.

http://www.computerworld.com/softwar...111065,00.html

Scroll down to the paragraph that begins with "Firefox has a special settings screen called about:config." From there he details what to do.
__________________
Cougar MX330-G / Antec EA650 650W / ASUS GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5 / AMD Ryzen 5 1600 / MSI B350 Gaming Plus
Samsung 970 EVO 250GB M.2 SSD / WD Blue SSD 250GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x16GB Corsair Vengence RGB / Win10 Pro x64 / Mionix Naos 7000 / Tecware 87 Key Mechanical

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 02:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 48
Default

firefox still rules!
__________________
Looking for computers to buy?
Visit:
<a href=http://www.abstracttech.com>http://www.abstracttech.com</a>
hereyago is offline  
Old 07-18-2006, 06:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 33
Default

i dont seem to have had a problem at any point with it =/
guess ill hope thats the way it stays.
__________________
Solitary is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 11:12 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 9
Default

My FF has been acting up lately - freezing etc. I'll give this a try.
__________________
bmarchand is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 11:49 AM   #9 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 225
Send a message via Yahoo to brrymnvette
Default

I'll try it. I've got 2gb RAM so I don't have problems. I just don't like how much memory it uses.
__________________

brrymnvette is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.