firefox blocking - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > Internet Software and Browsers
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-13-2016, 10:01 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
XWrench3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: W. MICHIGAN
Posts: 752
Default firefox blocking

this only happens on my desktop. but i can not find what i am doing wrong, or what setting is wrong. whenever i click on a link to another page (usually but not always) from g mail, i get a drop down bar saying that Firefox is blocking the page. i do have the pop up blocker checked in settings. which is another strange part of this. i still get quite a few pop ups. but i have to click the button that allows the page to load almost every time. my desktop is running the old Vista O.S. whereas my laptop that has none of these issues is running Windows 10. i dont know if the O.S. is part of the problem, or i just can not find the correct place to fix this.
__________________

__________________
XWrench3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2016, 10:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,569
Default Re: firefox blocking

Could you show a screenshot of the message you're seeing? Also, what version of FF are you running on the problem system compared to the Win10 system?
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2016, 11:24 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
XWrench3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: W. MICHIGAN
Posts: 752
Default Re: firefox blocking

not really sure how to post a screen shot. i tried, but when i tried to post just the screen shot, this board sent back a pop up saying that my post was 62975 characters long, and i needed to shorten it to 50000. so i am doing the best i can here. i wrote down what it says. the bar that i get when i tried to come here from my email says this

" Firefox prevented this page from automatically redirecting to another page." then there is a box that i click on that says "Allow" , and that redirects the browser here.

as far as which version, i can not remember how to find that out. so my brain will need a jump start. at least 60,000 volts please!
__________________
XWrench3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2016, 01:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,569
Default Re: firefox blocking

See if this fixes your issue:
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/questions/1018306
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2016, 05:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
XWrench3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: W. MICHIGAN
Posts: 752
Default Re: firefox blocking

yep, that fixed it. Thanx for about the 400th time! to bad i only get to leave thanks about every 5th time you help me.
__________________
XWrench3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2016, 05:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,569
Default Re: firefox blocking

Haha no problem, glad to help out.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2016, 01:43 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
fiberjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: usa
Posts: 23
Default Re: firefox blocking

glad to hear that your problem has been solved.
__________________
fiberjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2016, 05:26 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
XWrench3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: W. MICHIGAN
Posts: 752
Default Re: firefox blocking

yep, it was like a small sliver. it aggravates you a little at a time until it becomes unbearable. then you have to stop what your doing and just deal with it. i am a pretty patient man, which is both good and bad. this one has been bugging me for at least 2 months, most likely longer. but its not my primary computer anymore, mostly because it is as slow as a 100 year old turtle.
__________________
XWrench3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2016, 07:53 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Croatia
Posts: 13
Default Re: firefox blocking

Weird is that I have the same issue and it's amazing first I open is this topic.

Solved, thanks for that. Now I can get back to Firefox
__________________

__________________
Damian4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blocking Limewire without blocking torrents scorpio Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 1 12-19-2006 05:50 PM
Firefox blocking WANTED pop ups jonny_uk Internet Software and Browsers 9 07-18-2006 06:37 PM
Blocking Websites in Firefox? Lee05162004 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 07-03-2006 06:48 AM
Blocking sites in Firefox rohnds Internet Software and Browsers 1 05-31-2006 03:50 PM
Blocking sites on Firefox honor man Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 1 12-11-2005 09:18 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.