find image in my cache that is no longer online - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > Internet Software and Browsers
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-12-2019, 04:18 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 554
Default find image in my cache that is no longer online

saw an image on Reddit a few days ago that's no longer online. How would I find it in my cache? I use the Torch browser which runs on the Chrome engine, so essentially I'm using Chrome.
__________________

__________________

You want the best? Here I am
bigdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2019, 09:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,929
Default Re: find image in my cache that is no longer online

Check out this tool:
ChromeCacheView - Cache viewer for Google Chrome Web browser

Go to File --> Select Cache Folder and point it to your browser's cache folder. For example, Google Chrome's cache folder is:
%LocalAppData%\Google\Chrome\User Data\Default\Cache
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Google Pixel XL


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2019, 09:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 554
Default Re: find image in my cache that is no longer online

Thanks Carnage. Yes I should've mentioned I already tried that tool before posting here. Not sure why it's not working. I'm using a browser called Torch which is based on the Chrome engine. This tool only gave me old IE images - which is confusing because I've used all the major browsers in the last few months *except* for IE. So I would've expected to see results from Opera, Fx, and Chrome. But no, only IE.

Anyway so I went to the Chrome section of that software and changed the default directory from the typical Chrome directory to the path where Torch's cache is. But no results.

Do you know what's up?

Alternatively I know where Torch's cache is, and it has a ****load of files with no extensions. Are these supposed to be image files or something else? Based on googling it seems like these should be able to open in an image viewer, but that's not working.

I should mention, the image I'm looking for was viewed at 8:20 AM (according to my History). In the cache I'm seeing a file at 8:15 and 8:30. Does this mean files don't go to the cache right away, and I should look at the 8:30 file?

Thanks!
__________________

You want the best? Here I am
bigdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
6Mb L3 Cache vs. 8Mb L3 Cache for gaming. lemorte New Systems | Building and Buying 4 10-17-2011 06:19 PM
Icons cache no longer show the icon pictures Denise_M Microsoft Windows and Software 11 08-17-2009 10:15 AM
HDD 16mb Cache vs 32 MB Cache siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 31 05-05-2008 04:32 PM
Raptor 8mb cache versus 16mb cache... UA_Iron New Systems | Building and Buying 2 10-12-2007 03:15 PM
L1 cache vs L2 cache NickFas New Systems | Building and Buying 3 01-17-2006 07:12 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.