Dial-Up Problems (dads pc) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > Internet Software and Browsers
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-07-2005, 10:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 222
Send a message via AIM to Alex4R Send a message via Yahoo to Alex4R
Default Dial-Up Problems (dads pc)

For the last week, my dad has been struggling with his computer, debating with I don't know how many different tech lines. It is a dell 2400 desktop, whenever he goes to sign in to NetZero, it goes through "Your username and password are being verified, Your username and password have been verified, You are logged on" but as soon as it says "You are Logged on" it says "Failed to Connect to Our Server". He tried switching ISP's, first to MSN...same problem...then to AOHELL....same problem.

He is WAY against reformatting, because its my remedy to a lot of problems () and he thinks there are other ways to resolve them.

Are there any other ideas you guys have?

Thanks!
__________________

Alex4R is offline  
Old 02-07-2005, 10:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

It could be a modem problem. Is it safe to assume that the modem is built in and is PCI?
__________________

__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 02-08-2005, 02:22 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 63
Send a message via Yahoo to emmynem_2005
Default

Right Click On The Main Connection
Then Go In Properties
And Uncheck On The "Log On To The Network" Option
emmynem_2005 is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 02:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 222
Send a message via AIM to Alex4R Send a message via Yahoo to Alex4R
Default

Not seeing the option you mentioned emmynem. It is a windows xp home sp2 operating system.

Yes, macdude, the modem is built in and is PCI. It is a Dell, so all of it came preinstalled.
Alex4R is offline  
Old 02-13-2005, 01:11 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 63
Send a message via Yahoo to emmynem_2005
Default

1)Open "My Network Connections"
2)View Network Connections
3)Make A New Connection
4)Fill the Correct "Ip/VPN...etc...
5)Go In The Properties Of The Connection.
6)Keep "Optional Encryption"
7)Then Try Connecting.

Hope It Solves Your Problem...
It Has Solved Mine Though..
TY



(Before Connecting To The Internet,,Install A Firewall...There Is A Threat For Win XP Professional For The Sasser Worm...It Has Happened To Me 2 Times...)
emmynem_2005 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.