Connecting to internet

Status
Not open for further replies.

PadaWaN5

Baseband Member
Hello all, I haven't been on this forum in a while, and I am once again have internet connecting problems. Well, first off, its self explanatory, I can not connect to the internet on my upstairs computer. I have my wireless adapter plugged in, and I truly do not know whats going on. Can I get some help? Thanks,

Do you have a Wireless router? Did you connect the computer to the router to get a IP Address to connect to the internet?

Do you have a Wireless router? Did you connect the computer to the router to get a IP Address to connect to the internet?

I'm not sure what you mean, I am new to this things. Well, I have a down stairs computer, which has a router which the ethernet cord connects to the CPU. Upstairs, on the computer that doesn't have internet, has an adapter in the back. And I believe it conencts down to this computer.

Go down to your router and tell us the make and model of it.

Tell us the make and model of your wireless ethernet adapter on your upstairs computer.

Does your wireless adapter show up in device manager?
Did you recently install said adapter?

My router is a Westell model 327W

And my adapter is WG11v2

I would say I installed the adapter in March, But I am not completely sure.

Has the wireless ever worked?

Have you installed the drivers for the wireless card?
Can you see the wireless card in device manager?

If you open a command prompt and type:
ipconfig /all
Press enter. what does it say?

Has the wireless ever worked?

Have you installed the drivers for the wireless card?
Can you see the wireless card in device manager?

If you open a command prompt and type:
ipconfig /all
Press enter. what does it say?

Yes the wireless worked, How do you find if its in the device manager

and when i do ipconifg /all it says

Ethernet adapter local area connection

media state - -- - - Media Disconnected

desription - NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller.