Computer/Web/Internet/forum language

Status
Not open for further replies.

dalehileman

Solid State Member
As an erstwhile writer I suffer this compulsion to know what everything is called. There are probably many applicable dictionaries, this being one

NetLingo The Internet Dictionary

However it doesn't always answer my questions, for instance

1. “Link” is apparently short for “hyperlink,” which is almost anything you click on to access almost anything else. So how do you distinguish one in the form of an icon from one alphanumeric, usually underlined, eg

http://www.gardenbuddies.com/forums/edibles/10150-when-plant-snow-peas.html#post111023

2. A URL is apparently an address for a website. So are the two terms synonyms? or is a URL some special kind of address or vice versa

For instance is a URL simply an address that's easily converted to a hyperlink

A hyperlink in alphanumeric form incidentally is usu identified by being offered in light blue or being underlined. Suppose however I find such a link in the form of an everyday word but I'd like to get rid of the underline so as to use it as ordinary text. In Mac Mail one clicks on (accesses?) “remove link” but the underline remains so how does my correspondent know it's not a hyperlink? unless I laboriously highlight-command-U each time or even retype it

3. When I slide the cursor off the window I get a strip of icons that constitute hyperlinks to favorite websites (eg, Safari, Mail) on a black background. What is this strip called

4. Here is a link to HowStuffWorks

http://ebm.cheetahmail.com/c/tag/hBPaN9rB7uFbtB8hZafNsjAeoos/doc.html?email=

Once having accessed it what do you call such a page as it's displayed on your monitor? Is it called a “window”

……or is it a specific kind of window? or should we use the term, “display” or “page….” or “screen”? or even just “message”