ADSL speed issue

Status
Not open for further replies.

ashenne

Beta member
Gah. Okay. So i'm supposed to be on ADSL2+.

The speed test from speedtest.net shows that i'm reaching speeds of between 6mb/s and 7mb/s, which is all well and good, but when i'm surfing the web, the speed is nowhere near 6 or 7 mb/s. Sometimes, i'm certain dial-up would load faster.

This is the most recent result from a speed test:

All of the speed test sites I use give me pretty much the same result, but there is no way in heck that the said speeds are being applied when I surf the web.
I'm using a Speedstream 4200 modem, and the firmware is updated. I'm thinking this could be the issue and i'm looking at getting a new modem when I get paid.

Is there anything else that could be factoring in the speed issues i'm having? I'm fairly new at all of this, and it just baffles me as to why the speed tests are showing the speeds I SHOULD be getting, but it's just not happening. Downloading things is fine, like programs or movie/music files.. They're as fast as they should be. It's just general web surfing that is slower than my 92 year old grandma in slow motion. :cry:

Any help would be greatly appreciated :smile:

You cant take speedtest for its results. As they only do a single test with a small file size. So yeah you have the potential for that speed, the actual speeds are going to be much lower when doing tasks for longer than the 5-10 seconds it takes to download that file.

Your best bet is to contact the provider and see if they can help diagnose why your getting slower speeds and make sure that your getting the speeds your paying for.