TF app and tab - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Techist Forum Information > Forum Admin, Announcements & Feedback
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-05-2013, 09:33 AM   #11 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: TF app and tab

Good catch, that one is further down the list than the other one.

BTW, mentioned ICS in the OP. Connected via wifi.

Still doesn't work though. I can log in but it won't bring up the actual forums.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 09:34 AM   #12 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: TF app and tab

The app shouldnt work anymore. As it was something done by Larry with vB 4. Now that we are back on vB3.5 it shouldnt even connect to the database. If it does, your lucky. But overall the app should be defunk and removed.

Trotter said it best, Janet told us they were getting a ForumRunner App. No time frame on it though.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 09:41 AM   #13 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: TF app and tab

The app has actually changed since the roll back, so is somebody slowly working on it or have updated it? I have my apps set to update via wifi so I have no idea if the app itself has been updated. It's to my knowledge that if that's the case it shouldn't work at all, but mine still does (on my phone). So something's up somewhere.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 10:42 AM   #14 (permalink)
 
iFargle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 4,024
Default Re: TF app and tab

The official TF app on iPhone works. Same with the ForumRunner app.
__________________
7700k 32GB RAM 512GB 960 Pro GTX 1080 NCase M1
15" Retina MBP || 64GB Nexus 6P || 64GB iPad Air 2
Battle.net: iFargle #1561 || Steam/Origin: iFargle
iFargle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 01:05 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Newcastle, England
Posts: 268
Default

It has worked fine for me on 3 different android devices running 2.3, 4.0 & 4.1
I don't think its luck, I just think it works

The other app that the op had downloaded initially has never worked for me, but this version is fine

ForumRunner_20130405_160225.png
Frosty is a Snowman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 01:19 PM   #16 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: TF app and tab

I have both downloaded and neither work. The old one I had on first wouldn't log in, and the second one which matches my phone will not bring up the forum threads. It works fine on my phone though. My phone has a custom ROM, but this tab is stock ICS.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 02:16 PM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Newcastle, England
Posts: 268
Default

What if you press the menu option and click refresh, I sometimes have to do that to get some sections to update the content, if you have none cached it might not display anything until you refresh
Frosty is a Snowman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 02:28 PM   #18 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: TF app and tab

Nope that's not working either. I'll just use the desktop site I guess.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 01:07 PM   #19 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: TF app and tab

The new app works fine for me on my tablet (stock ICS) and phone ( touchwiz Jellybean). If you don't mind me asking PP which Galaxy Tab model do you have, there are some variations in hardware and resolution that could possibly be part of the issue.

KSoD, there are two TF apps on the Play Store, the old one you are talking about and the newer one which does work.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 01:23 PM   #20 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: TF app and tab

ATT 8.9 957.

So as it turns out, the box said ICS but I checked and it was 3.2 Honeyderp. So after fighting and giving up with Kies I searched for a while and found the official ATT ICS update and put it on myself. It works now. Not only that, it's like 10x faster. ICS is so awesome.

Problem resolved I guess.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.