T-F UI layout - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Techist Forum Information > Forum Admin, Announcements & Feedback
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-22-2010, 09:04 AM   #11 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: T-F UI layout

TheMjaor let me see if can try to address some of those link issues.

The Content issue is really quite simple. That is for the new CMS or Content Management System. Basically where we are trying to build a portal, sadly the /content was designated by vB with vB4, hence why it is there. We are looking into an alternative CMS system and that might change.

The forum index should be on /pc/ and not just the root anymore. The whole forum itself is located on the /pc/ and the root just redirects to the forum for the time being. This is due to the fact that there is a "plan" to use something like the CMS system to be the "portal" to this wonderful site and that will be at the root of the domain.

This is why the forums are on the /pc and yes it was a strange designation, but sadly one that has to be lived with now. It has been that way for so long it would screw up every search result for the site if we changed it.

So i can completely understand your POV on this. I tend to agree, but sadly the damage is done...
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2010, 09:19 AM   #12 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default Re: T-F UI layout

That's too bad.

There are ways to redirect any URL pointing to techist.com/pc/...php to something like forum.techist.com/....php
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2010, 09:31 AM   #13 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: T-F UI layout

Yeah i know. But that choice is beyond me.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2010, 12:49 PM   #14 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: T-F UI layout

Quote:
Originally Posted by Baez View Post
That's purely vBulletin's fault. vB4 ruined mobility and what little editable code vB3 had left. I'd have to rewrite the whole site to make a mobile skin.
Ah. sucks for me when trying to kill time at the hospital.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2010, 01:35 PM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: T-F UI layout

No hospital computers? :P
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2010, 03:30 PM   #16 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: T-F UI layout

The moderator badges were designed for the dark skin on vB3. That's why the contrast doesn't work.

Once the new skin is out I'll start pushing for a custom CMS.
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Layout objecterror Web Graphics and Design 35 05-05-2008 06:34 PM
New Layout GuitarFreak1857 Overclocking and Modding 15 11-07-2007 03:29 AM
What's the best way to layout a HD GreyMackUK Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 02-05-2007 12:54 PM
IDE Layout willsko87 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 10 01-06-2005 12:10 PM
layout .. sunsider Forum Admin, Announcements & Feedback 1 11-18-2004 08:23 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.