slow page loads - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Techist Forum Information > Forum Admin, Announcements & Feedback
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-01-2008, 10:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default slow page loads

Anybody else experiencing slow page loads? Both IE7 and Firefox.
__________________

__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 07-01-2008, 11:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: slow page loads

Hello Dave,

Yes we know of this issue. We are looking at alternatives and solutions to this issue. All in due time.

Cheers,
Mak
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-03-2008, 08:09 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techalicious
 
Redmo0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: slow page loads

Any idea whats causing it ?
__________________
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Old 07-03-2008, 10:25 AM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: slow page loads

Hello,

Yes the combined mess of hte upgrade from teh old forum to this then the mess of upgrading this version of vB. It all just went wrong at some point.

The situation has a resolution and you should feel it and see it within this month sometime.

Cheers,
Mak
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-03-2008, 10:50 AM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default Re: slow page loads

Yep yep. Larry is in the process of getting things taken care of. He wants to make sure everything is going to work right before he throws the switch.

I've always heard experience is the best teacher... probelm is that she gives the test before the lesson.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 07-10-2008, 01:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Yek
T.F's Resident Cool Guy...
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,613
Send a message via AIM to Yek Send a message via MSN to Yek Send a message via Yahoo to Yek
Default Re: slow page loads

You quite sure Larry isn't running Apache on his laptop?

Yek is offline  
Old 07-10-2008, 01:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default Re: slow page loads

Our current server leaves much to be desired, of this we are all more than aware. Larry has already set up a rather nice server that is already live as of July 4. The plan is to get vB set up and right and then import Tech-Forums' information into it. This will cause the site to go down for a little bit, but it shouldn't be too bad.

Hopefully we'll be able to let members know ahead of time, but we may not have the opportunity. Once the move to the new server is done we should see some huge improvements with speed and functionality. That's the plan, anyway.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cnn.com loads slow and money.cnn.com and other subdomains do not load at all. Pureblood HijackThis Logs (finished) 2 02-26-2008 09:16 PM
loads first page thats it gloverdaniel Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 02-17-2008 04:00 PM
Firefox 2.0.0.11 loads VERY slow mack Microsoft Windows and Software 11 01-12-2008 03:39 AM
slow computer hijackthis included lfdrumz0929 Microsoft Windows and Software 3 07-16-2007 09:17 PM
Why is IE 7 so slow? How to fix IE7? Speed it Up Larry Internet Software and Browsers 24 06-06-2007 02:19 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.