Search Broken - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Techist Forum Information > Forum Admin, Announcements & Feedback
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-30-2012, 10:04 PM   #11 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Seach Broken

I was able to use the Search feature myself. Then again I have also reformatted recently. Have you tried logging out and clearing you cache?
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 03:52 AM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Seach Broken

Yes, this is actually a fresh install, and has nothing to do with the browser, it's the fact the forum is returning to me an error. I honestly think it's permissions related for some reason, so far everyone that says it works is mod/admin, ones that have so far said in this thread that it doesn't work are typical users.

A few things I KNOW as fact: For at least 2 years now the data base HAS been corrupt in such a way that search can't search beyond a certain point in it. Though posts exist, search never could return results for those posts. I bet you can't get search to find every thread I have ever made to this day. Now, ever since the most recent move, I have been unable to search for ANYTHING what so ever, on MULTIPLE computers. This is a software bug or database corruption. This is NOT a "user" error. I have tried on numerous machines, different browsers, forced refresh, even by-passed my squid proxy in the event it was caching an error page.
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 07:57 AM   #13 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 25
Default Re: Seach Broken

Hey everyone, I think the dataset is just too large. Fortunately we have already built a solution (our custom sphinx integration). I am installing now and will let you know when it is complete.
Tech Admin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 08:08 AM   #14 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 25
Default Re: Seach Broken

Ok, installed. Search should be pretty fast now, and no more timeouts.
Tech Admin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 09:21 AM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Seach Broken

o.0 Thanks... Search seems to work now for me, even goes all the way back to 2005.
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.