Search Broken - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Techist Forum Information > Forum Admin, Announcements & Feedback
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-29-2012, 03:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default Search Broken

Seems TF seach feature is broken. Each time I try a search, I get a Database error. The tag search does work though. The issue happens from both the quick drop-down search box at the top of the page, and also on the advanced search page.

Screenshot:
__________________

__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 09:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Seach Broken

Yes this is a known issue due to the switch back the vB 3.8. The search feature and the database do not like each other as you can see. It is being looked into, or at least that was what I was told.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 10:17 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Seach Broken

So... Any updates on this? Kinda really need to find something and not having search is... a PITA.
c0rr0sive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 03:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
Janet H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 164
Default Re: Seach Broken

Are you still getting errors? Search is working for me....
Janet H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 03:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Seach Broken

Yep, still broken for me...

Under advanced search, I can not search for a keyword that a user has used.
Also, clicking Search this thread, entering a word, then clicking submit yields the same issue.

Quote:
Database error
The Tech & Computer Forums database has encountered a problem.
Please try the following:
Load the page again by clicking the Refresh button in your web browser.
Open the www.techist.com home page, then try to open another page.
Click the Back button to try another link.
The www.techist.com forum technical staff have been notified of the error, though you may contact them if the problem persists.

We apologise for any inconvenience.
c0rr0sive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 04:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
Janet H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 164
Default Re: Seach Broken

Can you let me know what you are searching? I am not able to recreate this - I've done a bunch of advanced searches and not encountered an issue.
Janet H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 04:09 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Seach Broken

At the advanced seach, I will search for a term such as Xeon, at the same time, for username Trotter, those are the only fields filled out.
c0rr0sive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 04:10 PM   #8 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: Seach Broken

Works for me...
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 04:34 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Seach Broken

c0rr0sive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2012, 04:40 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
danhodge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 269
Send a message via Skype™ to danhodge
Default Re: Seach Broken

It isn't working for me either, i tried a search for 'RAM' earlier and got that same error.
__________________

danhodge is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.