Reputation system has been activated - Page 13 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Techist Forum Information > Forum Admin, Announcements & Feedback
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-09-2009, 07:01 PM   #121 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Reputation system has been activated

Quote:
Good good.. Like i said before, a forum i mod, got stupid on reps.. It becomes a popularity contest.
I don't think that would happen here, even if the settings were not there that did not allow you to give repetitive rep. Most people here are mature and would not do that. I couldn't care less what rep i have, as long as it is not red im good... haha.
__________________

__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 02-12-2009, 04:33 PM   #122 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Reputation system has been activated

So far I have given it to only a FEW people, I have only really been giving it if I think it is worthwhile to give someone rep...
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 02-15-2009, 12:46 AM   #123 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Wrex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Japan
Posts: 52
Default Re: Reputation system has been activated

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
For regular members and mods the current system settings will only let you award rep 10 times in a day, and it won't let you give rep to the same person until you have repped 20 others. I thought about changing these, but everything I found online about how to set it up said that it was best to leave it that way to avoid misuse or lopsided reps.
While reading down I was going to mention that.. seems the best way to just keep it like it is so it doesn't turn into some epeen contest like a lot other forums does with their reputation system.

Will there be a way for us (regular users) to neg. rep other users or will it stay for positive only? Sorry if this was mentioned somewhere along the lines already, then I must have missed it.
Wrex is offline  
Old 02-15-2009, 03:18 AM   #124 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Reputation system has been activated

Only us mods can negative rep members. Don't want this to be gang fest. We'll be on the lookout for posts that don't deserve to be there.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 02-15-2009, 03:23 AM   #125 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Wrex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Japan
Posts: 52
Default Re: Reputation system has been activated

Quote:
Originally Posted by Baez View Post
Only us mods can negative rep members. Don't want this to be gang fest. We'll be on the lookout for posts that don't deserve to be there.
Fully understandable. =p
Thanks for your respond!
Wrex is offline  
Old 02-15-2009, 07:13 PM   #126 (permalink)
Yee Ol' Salt
 
Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 642
Default Re: Reputation system has been activated

I logged into my UserCP and saw I have a repped post.. but it doesn't have a comment.. and the box next to it is grey.. is this a negative rating?
__________________

Find my post helpful? IF so please rate me by clicking the green check mark under my avatar.





:D Antec 300|M3N72-D|AMD PHM II X3 BE 720 3.0ghz (CodeName "Heka")|OCZ Stealth Xtreme 600w|2 two gig OCZ DDR2 1066 gold 4 GB of Ram|BFG-GTX 260 512||Samsung 42" Plasma| XP x86 sp3 /Vista x386 and x64|
The face I make everytime I'm on my machine :eek:
Hampton is offline  
Old 02-15-2009, 07:31 PM   #127 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Reputation system has been activated

No, its just a normal.. not pos/neg

I think that's given by new members, so they can't give a pos rep to a Spam post..
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 02-15-2009, 07:35 PM   #128 (permalink)
Yee Ol' Salt
 
Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 642
Default Re: Reputation system has been activated

Normal? not pos or negative? well whats a normal rating? should it not be a pos or neg?
__________________

Find my post helpful? IF so please rate me by clicking the green check mark under my avatar.





:D Antec 300|M3N72-D|AMD PHM II X3 BE 720 3.0ghz (CodeName "Heka")|OCZ Stealth Xtreme 600w|2 two gig OCZ DDR2 1066 gold 4 GB of Ram|BFG-GTX 260 512||Samsung 42" Plasma| XP x86 sp3 /Vista x386 and x64|
The face I make everytime I'm on my machine :eek:
Hampton is offline  
Old 02-15-2009, 07:42 PM   #129 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Reputation system has been activated

If they can't give any points, whats the point of them being able to give a rep that does nothing?
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 02-15-2009, 07:56 PM   #130 (permalink)
Yee Ol' Salt
 
Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 642
Default Re: Reputation system has been activated

So.. unless the ppl we are helping are seasoned veterans here.. then the average person that just comes here for help which are the one's we are helping, they can't rep us?.. does this not defeat the purpose?
__________________

__________________

Find my post helpful? IF so please rate me by clicking the green check mark under my avatar.





:D Antec 300|M3N72-D|AMD PHM II X3 BE 720 3.0ghz (CodeName "Heka")|OCZ Stealth Xtreme 600w|2 two gig OCZ DDR2 1066 gold 4 GB of Ram|BFG-GTX 260 512||Samsung 42" Plasma| XP x86 sp3 /Vista x386 and x64|
The face I make everytime I'm on my machine :eek:
Hampton is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new computer overheating jokka37 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 05-23-2008 02:36 AM
Osiris' 4 Step Spyware Removal Guide (old) Osiris Viruses, Spyware and Malware 89 12-26-2007 06:37 PM
seagate 80gigs failing.. acuariano Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 27 08-27-2007 10:43 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.