Reputation system has been activated - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Techist Forum Information > Forum Admin, Announcements & Feedback
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-28-2009, 04:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

Ż\_(ツ)_/Ż
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Reputation system has been activated

I have activated the reputation system. This can be considered a trial run as it may or may not remain active, depending upon the use and actions of the membership in general.

The purpose of the reputation system is to allow the community a way to distinguish those who are helpful and knowledgeable. Because of this, reputation points should be given for these types of actions, not for frivolous reasons.

While negative points can be given, this is not meant as a way to slam members or as a "punishment" for the same. A negative reputation is not something to be desired, but it is possible. However, should members "gang up" on others for the purpose of running down someone's reputation, I will step in and take action. This is not to be used as a way to heap scorn on someone, no matter how inept they may be.

Again, this can be considered a trial run, and the outcome will depend on the way the system is used or abused.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-28-2009, 04:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Reputation system has been activated

Thank you. I have already given you Rep for this.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 01-28-2009, 04:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Reputation system has been activated

Good job Trotter, this should cut down on post-padding
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 01-28-2009, 04:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: Reputation system has been activated

Quote:
However, should members "gang up" on others
haha! :love:

I don't see a button to add rep except for myself
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 01-28-2009, 04:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Reputation system has been activated

sweet, thats a good idea. is that why i have a green little square by by avatar now? Also how do you give people reputation points? can't figure it out.

EDIT: ^same clown, and im the only one i can see that has a green square? whats with that? Mak said he gave trotter rep for this and yet his square is still grey?
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 01-28-2009, 04:43 PM   #6 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Reputation system has been activated

I can give rep to anyone.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 01-28-2009, 04:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Reputation system has been activated

For the mods it seems to display...

Let me try adding some to you Baez..
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 01-28-2009, 04:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: Reputation system has been activated

Quote:
Originally Posted by luke992006 View Post

im the only one i can see that has a green square? whats with that? Mak said he gave trotter rep for this and yet his square is still grey?
because you are mega awesome
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 01-28-2009, 04:50 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Reputation system has been activated

i have a green square too, and can see other's but some are grey, and cant add no rep excecpt to my self
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 01-28-2009, 05:09 PM   #10 (permalink)
Tim
Sir Timothy
 
Tim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Chichester, England
Posts: 534
Default Re: Reputation system has been activated

How exactly do these things work then??
Im a bit confused

I can only add to my own reputation...?
__________________

__________________
Tim is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new computer overheating jokka37 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 05-23-2008 02:36 AM
Osiris' 4 Step Spyware Removal Guide (old) Osiris Viruses, Spyware and Malware 89 12-26-2007 06:37 PM
seagate 80gigs failing.. acuariano Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 27 08-27-2007 10:43 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.