Odd behavior IE10 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Techist Forum Information > Forum Admin, Announcements & Feedback
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-04-2013, 09:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Odd behavior IE10

For the last day or so, both my computers running ie10 are having issues with the site.

The site stalls and I'll get warnings that it's not responding due to long running script.
fine on FF and Crome.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 11:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Odd behavior IE10

I can confirm that this is happening. It is happening to me as well. Latest version of IE10 on Win8.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 12:37 AM   #3 (permalink)
 
iFargle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 4,028
Default Re: Odd behavior IE10

I've had so many issues with IE10 I had to roll back 100-something computers back to IE9 (programs designed to work with IE9 and earlier didn't work in IE10)
__________________
7700k 32GB RAM 512GB 960 Pro GTX 1080 NCase M1
15" Retina MBP || 64GB Nexus 6P || 64GB iPad Air 2
Battle.net: iFargle #1561 || Steam/Origin: iFargle
iFargle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 09:19 AM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Odd behavior IE10

Quote:
Originally Posted by iFargle View Post
I've had so many issues with IE10 I had to roll back 100-something computers back to IE9 (programs designed to work with IE9 and earlier didn't work in IE10)
That would be an option, if there was a way to do so in Win8. But I10 is the only version available for Win8. So that really isnt an option.

I havent gotten around to downloading and testing Win8.1 to see if the problem continues with IE11.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 01:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Odd behavior IE10

Quote:
Originally Posted by iFargle View Post
I've had so many issues with IE10 I had to roll back 100-something computers back to IE9 (programs designed to work with IE9 and earlier didn't work in IE10)
This is a 3 day old issue basically, so not a switch with ie10 as far as I'm aware.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 03:15 AM   #6 (permalink)
Minecraft Veteran
 
Thorax_the_Impaler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 352
Default Re: Odd behavior IE10

I am also having this problem.
Thorax_the_Impaler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 04:14 PM   #7 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Odd behavior IE10

IE10 seems to be crap from what I have seen of it thus far. I think I have it but I use Firefox on my computer and Chrome on my phone.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 04:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
Minecraft Veteran
 
Thorax_the_Impaler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 352
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
IE10 seems to be crap from what I have seen of it thus far. I think I have it but I use Firefox on my computer and Chrome on my phone.
I'm starting to agree with that. I've always used IE; but Firefox and even Chrome are starting to win me over.
Thorax_the_Impaler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 09:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Odd behavior IE10

IE10 is what brought me back to IE. I had removed all browsers from my desktop but that. But when loading this site, and only this site, it takes up to 30 seconds to a minute to just load. But yet it loads instantly on Chrome. It doesnt happen on any other vB site I visit. It is only this site. So personal opinions aside, there is something wrong with TF using IE. Since it is still a majority browser for people since they dont want to use an alternative, we are only hurting ourselves by not actually taking a look into this and passing it off as IE being stupid.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 09:01 AM   #10 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Odd behavior IE10

IE10 may be great but I have encountered problems in certain situations thus far in my experience with it.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.