New Upgrade at Tech-Forums - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Techist Forum Information > Forum Admin, Announcements & Feedback
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-15-2007, 03:06 PM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: "Almost Heaven" USA
Posts: 4,866
Send a message via AIM to Dave Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
Default Re: New Upgrade at Tech-Forums

The five chararacters needed to constitute a post is an attempt to avoid post padding and useless posts.

Do you think we should up that number?

Also, still tweaking on permissions....so this forum is definitely fixed. Thanks for the heads up.
Dave
__________________

Dave is offline  
Old 03-15-2007, 03:27 PM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: "Almost Heaven" USA
Posts: 4,866
Send a message via AIM to Dave Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
Default Re: New Upgrade at Tech-Forums

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
Quick reply box missing

Forum jump doesn't have the forums in it...
I'm adding forums to the Forum Jump box (don't want the private forums in there).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
Avatars...?
So groups can already add their custom avatars. However, this will soon be a feature that only members can do after a certain amount of posts again.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
What about having the user info to the left of the post again, instead of on top?
I agree with all 3 of you in that. Low on the priority list, but will check it out. Edit: Just happened to remember where that was and checked the old style instead of Legacy....maybe we should vote on it, but I like this way better, too.

Dave
__________________

Dave is offline  
Old 03-15-2007, 04:04 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
FireFox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 608
Default Re: New Upgrade at Tech-Forums

Another thing that's sorta annoying.

There's only 10 posts per page instead of atleast 15 by default.
__________________
FireFox is offline  
Old 03-15-2007, 09:54 PM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
djg320's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 57
Send a message via AIM to djg320
Default Re: New Upgrade at Tech-Forums

It seems as though the server is buckling under the load. Is Larry going to optimize everything or something? What are the specs of the server?
__________________
"Hmm, I wonder..." *apt-get install Ferrari* "Error: Dependency not met, package 'Money' not installed." "Gah!" *apt-cache search job*
P4 2.8 ghz, 768 megs of ram, 120gb SATAI hdd, 19" Samsung Syncmaster LCD, EVGA Nvidia 6200 OCed.
TC Clan/Forums Community CS:S server status.
djg320 is offline  
Old 03-15-2007, 10:42 PM   #15 (permalink)
Indeed.
 
Greg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,600
Default Re: New Upgrade at Tech-Forums

Quote:
Originally Posted by djg320 View Post
It seems as though the server is buckling under the load. Is Larry going to optimize everything or something? What are the specs of the server?
Seems normal to me. Then again, I don't have the quickest internet
__________________

Greg is offline  
Old 03-15-2007, 11:12 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
kfc469's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 928
Send a message via AIM to kfc469
Default Re: New Upgrade at Tech-Forums

The "Quick Links" box up at the top has stuff in it, but when I click on something in that menu, nothing happens.
__________________

kfc469 is offline  
Old 03-16-2007, 05:45 AM   #17 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default Re: New Upgrade at Tech-Forums

Quote:
Originally Posted by kfc469 View Post
The "Quick Links" box up at the top has stuff in it, but when I click on something in that menu, nothing happens.
Thread tools menu issue
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 03-16-2007, 06:49 PM   #18 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default Re: New Upgrade at Tech-Forums

yo wow this is new tried to come visit and what a surprise i was wondering when these changes would happen good to see Tf progressing. So what did you upgrade vb to a newer version?
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 03-16-2007, 11:47 PM   #19 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: New Upgrade at Tech-Forums

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lonewolf5460 View Post
yo wow this is new tried to come visit and what a surprise i was wondering when these changes would happen good to see tech forums progressing. So what did you upgrade vb to a newer version?
yup, we're now on 3.6.5, instead of 2.2.6
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-08-2007, 08:42 AM   #20 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: New Upgrade at Tech-Forums

Are you going to get a new theme soon?

This one is kind of bland.

__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.