Navigation problems on forum - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Techist Forum Information > Forum Admin, Announcements & Feedback
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-20-2007, 07:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 29
Default Navigation problems on forum

Hi!
I got no links in dropdown menus of the forum working for me. I had to try a number of browsers with the same result. Is it designed "to work" this way? If yes, why not to make it work as it's already here. If it's working for other, are here some recommendations to solve it?
__________________

ninthBit is offline  
Old 10-20-2007, 09:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Navigation problems on forum

The drop-downs are a work in progress. We didn't have them before the upgrade in vB software, so they were shut out of the upgrade process. The admin is working his way through the problem, but it is not as easy as it sounds.

To access a member's info (the drop-down when you click their name), right click the name and open in a new window/tab. You will also be able to PM a member from that page.

As for the other menus, search works some, but only for posts made since the upgrade. Any others, I dunno, as my interface is a bit different from that of normal members.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-29-2008, 11:49 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 220
Default Re: Navigation problems on forum

Seems it's fixed...
Tech-man is offline  
Old 01-29-2008, 03:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Yek
T.F's Resident Cool Guy...
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,613
Send a message via AIM to Yek Send a message via MSN to Yek Send a message via Yahoo to Yek
Default Re: Navigation problems on forum

Wow, it is

Trotter however uses middle click,
Yek is offline  
Old 01-29-2008, 05:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Navigation problems on forum

The top dropdowns work for me, but not the dropdown from a member's name.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-30-2008, 12:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
Yek
T.F's Resident Cool Guy...
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,613
Send a message via AIM to Yek Send a message via MSN to Yek Send a message via Yahoo to Yek
Default Re: Navigation problems on forum

The member dropdown works, links as always do not. I use the right click method
Yek is offline  
Old 02-07-2008, 08:36 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: "Almost Heaven" USA
Posts: 4,866
Send a message via AIM to Dave Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
Default Re: Navigation problems on forum

Not trying to be smart, but one thing that we do have going is the search feature. It seems to be working fine, like if you look up dropdown menus it will show this and the other thread about it. The bad thing is that this has taken more time to solve than I really like.

Dave
Dave is offline  
Old 02-08-2008, 08:15 AM   #8 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Navigation problems on forum

You ain't usin' a big 'nuff hammer, Dave. I told the 12# sledge would work, but NO! you want to use that puny 20 ounce framing hammer of yours...
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-08-2008, 04:07 PM   #9 (permalink)
Yek
T.F's Resident Cool Guy...
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,613
Send a message via AIM to Yek Send a message via MSN to Yek Send a message via Yahoo to Yek
Default Re: Navigation problems on forum

US humor is totally different from english
__________________

Yek is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Forum Leader's Guide & Conduct Dave Forum Admin, Announcements & Feedback 0 11-01-2004 10:21 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.