More Message Length - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Techist Forum Information > Forum Admin, Announcements & Feedback
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-05-2003, 01:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 78
Default More Message Length

I typed something up and couldn't post it because it was 2058 and not 1000. Is there a way instead of posting twice to do this in this forum?
__________________

Nightman is offline  
Old 01-05-2003, 01:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: "Almost Heaven" USA
Posts: 4,866
Send a message via AIM to Dave Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
Default

I think the default is 1000, but it could be bumped up. That would be up to the admin to weigh the advantages and disadvantages.

Here's a suggestion, something I use:

When you have made a reply, before hitting the submit, check the message length. If it is too long, highlight and copy it all. Then cut off the excess and submit. Then reply, using the paste and remove what you had in the first post.

That seems obvious, but I wrote a couple that were too long and didn't really know what to do. That was suggested to me, and it works well.

Dave
__________________

Dave is offline  
Old 01-05-2003, 01:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 78
Default

Ok I'll try that the next time it happens. Tx's
Nightman is offline  
Old 01-06-2003, 12:57 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,212
Default

Ive disabled it so its set to unlimited now.
Chopper is offline  
Old 01-10-2003, 09:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 78
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Chopper
Ive disabled it so its set to unlimited now.
Really, chopper your ok. Tx's! This will help when trying to say something thats way to long.
Nightman is offline  
Old 01-10-2003, 09:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
the flaming hermit
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 950
Send a message via ICQ to þÄ®âÐÖx Send a message via Yahoo to þÄ®âÐÖx
Default

Please don't go overboard - I rarely read huge posts
þÄ®âÐÖx is offline  
Old 01-10-2003, 10:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: "Almost Heaven" USA
Posts: 4,866
Send a message via AIM to Dave Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
Default

Oh my! We're unlimited now. I hope there aren't any politicians in here or we'll have to start some filibustering rules. Haha!

Dave
__________________

Dave is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.