Moderator - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Techist Forum Information > Forum Admin, Announcements & Feedback
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-31-2007, 11:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Try again!
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 896
Send a message via AIM to motoxer4533 Send a message via MSN to motoxer4533
Question Moderator

Just a few questions...

What has to be done to become a moderator? Is there a certain post limit?

Do you have to be a contributing (paying) member?

I don't really know what else to ask - I am interested to see what has to be done to become a mod.

Thanks!
__________________

motoxer4533 is offline  
Old 06-01-2007, 12:08 AM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Moderator

your not gonna become a mod, im not either, you need to stand out
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 06-01-2007, 12:19 AM   #3 (permalink)
Try again!
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 896
Send a message via AIM to motoxer4533 Send a message via MSN to motoxer4533
Default Re: Moderator

Why are you always such a **** all of the time? Every post I read from you is negative. I just asked a simple question, and you didn't answer one of them. Next time you get on this site, please, keep your mouse off the reply button.
motoxer4533 is offline  
Old 06-01-2007, 12:26 AM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Moderator

you wont ever ever become mod anyways? why be mad?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 06-01-2007, 10:27 AM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Moderator

If we are recruiting mods, there will be a message to that effect in DMo's sig. We are not recruiting at this time.

Mods don't have to stand out. In fact, several who are now mods or have been mods in the past were surprised when they were asked. While we do allow people to volunteer when we are recruiting, the last round or two of mods were actually nominated by the mods themselves.

A general rule to go by is that if you ask to be a mod you won't be a mod. That isn't set in stone, but that is the general view.

A mod must be a team player, and one who obeys the rules of the forum. A mod must be willing to set aside his or her own opinions and look at things objectively. A mod also has to put up with a lot of BS from members who insist that they do not have to abide by the rules.

Trust me, it is not all fun and games, and there is no glamor to the job. I do it because I care about TF.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 06-01-2007, 11:04 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 135
Default Re: Moderator

how do you become an admin? it'd be nice is someone would fix all the bugs in these forums
NathanLedet is offline  
Old 06-01-2007, 06:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Moderator

We have two admins... Larry (the owner) and DMo224. Larry isn't around very much; he runs a business and is working through some several medical problems with his youngest child. DMo hasn't been on much lately due to personal illness and illness in his family (let's say I'm glad I ain't him lately).

DMo is still working on all of this, even though his life is a bit complicated right now. Some of the fixes have worked fine, and some caused other problems. DMo will tell you he's not a vB guru, and this new version is world's different than the archaic one we upgraded from.

Basically, be patient. Things are being worked on, even if you can't see it happening.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 06-01-2007, 07:37 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Kharn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: Moderator

Hey Trotter when you speak to Larry tell him I wish him and his family all the best.

And tell DM0 I hope he gets better soon.

I have recently been working through some issues of my own, and finding time to do things that aren't essential is hard, and I give any one my respect who can find time to do it.

@Trotter how did you get made a mod I would love to here that story.
__________________
Visit this and do something for the world!
www.hackersforcharity.org

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Old 06-01-2007, 08:40 PM   #9 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Moderator

I volunteered when they were asking for recruits, but was turned down. A little later they were looking again (we had a high turnover there for a while) and I was asked if I was still interested. I must have been doing something right 'cause I was eventually asked to be a super.

I'm just me doin' what I do. I guess I happened to be a good fit.

Quote:
What has to be done to become a moderator? Is there a certain post limit?

Do you have to be a contributing (paying) member?
Actually, I think the post count had to be 400+ and been a member at least six months or so. Contributing does not affect it one way or another.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 06-02-2007, 12:07 AM   #10 (permalink)
Try again!
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 896
Send a message via AIM to motoxer4533 Send a message via MSN to motoxer4533
Default Re: Moderator

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post

Actually, I think the post count had to be 400+ and been a member at least six months or so. Contributing does not affect it one way or another.

Gotcha. I figured there was some type of limit - Although I don't post too often, I feel that it's more valuable keeping junk posts off of the site rather than posting garbage (which has been going around as of late).

I don't think I will ever become a mod - but if the chance arises I'll take it. I'm always on here and willing to help. (Plus I fold as much as possible )
__________________

motoxer4533 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.