login does not set cookies - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Techist Forum Information > Forum Admin, Announcements & Feedback
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-26-2009, 03:09 AM   #1 (permalink)
Inspired by Art
 
tastegw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,400
Default login does not set cookies

try this, deleat all your cookies, and such, come back here, use the login at the top of the page, log in. click box "remember me" and then exit your browser, restart browser.
come back to tech-forums, and you will not be logged in.
no cookies were set to log you in automaticly when you come back.

this took me a while to figure out why..

to bypass this right now (until this is fixed)

while logged out, just go to a thread and try to respond to it, this will prompt you to log in


this method will set the cookies for you.

mods can you fix the member login @ the top of the page so it sets the cookies and saves your info.


edit: i have been having nothing but issues ever since this new theme.

not sure how much more i can take.
__________________

__________________
tastegw is offline  
Old 02-26-2009, 07:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: login does not set cookies

Hunh, I had wondered why I kept having to sign in. I don't wanna delete all my cookies tho, I think I'll delete only TF's.
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 02-26-2009, 08:08 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default Re: login does not set cookies

With opera i have to keep signing in to the site no matter what i try.

With IE i can't even log in as the stupid join now crap is covering the login area
Attached Images
File Type: jpg WTF!!!.jpg (20.4 KB, 198 views)
Shumway is offline  
Old 02-26-2009, 08:55 AM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default Re: login does not set cookies

I use CookieCuller (Firefox extension) to protect the cookies I want to keep, like my login here and other places. As long as I remember to use CookieCuller to clean my cookies I am good to go. If I clean them through Firefox or CCleaner I am screwed.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 02-26-2009, 09:42 AM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: login does not set cookies

The Mods cant fix the cookie issue. It is SERVER side and only done by Larry.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-26-2009, 09:47 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: login does not set cookies

This happens at home and at school, though at school I have to sign in every time I post, instead of every few minutes.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 02-26-2009, 09:56 AM   #7 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: login does not set cookies

Honestly i dont see the big deal. If you are at school you should not be having the cookie saved anyways.

You dont know who will be using the PC after you and what they are going to do. So if you leave yourself logged in, they can retrace your steps and get you in trouble here and possibly banned.

At home is it really so difficult to just type in a user name and password once per session? Yeah i never had to do it before, but honestly it isnt that difficult. I may have logged on more times since this new skin since i joined. But still it isnt like it is that hard to do.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-26-2009, 10:02 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: login does not set cookies

I'd be happy if I had to sign in once per session, but it's every few minutes.

@ the school thing, we've all learnt by year 11 to lock comps when we'll be gone even for 30 seconds, since it's basically obligation to mess with an unlocked comp :P After going to this school, locking/logging off is now so ingrained in me I do it even at home. And cookies get deleted every friday.

Edit: For example, while typing this post it logged me out in the inter-rim.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 02-26-2009, 10:41 AM   #9 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default Re: login does not set cookies

It is an issue with vB. It will be sorted soon enough.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 03-12-2009, 03:06 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
hollyoaks777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 286
Default Re: login does not set cookies

deleted al my cookies,still does not work
__________________

hollyoaks777 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Zango Removal Script Osiris Programming 1 11-27-2008 11:45 AM
Login Message ehgit Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 11-18-2008 03:49 PM
batch to copy file help under_score Programming 6 11-14-2008 08:38 AM
Clone Hard Drive? peterhuang913 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 16 03-03-2008 01:12 AM
Windows PC won't allow login tonyisnt Microsoft Windows and Software 4 12-21-2007 01:33 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.