Issues with buttons - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Techist Forum Information > Forum Admin, Announcements & Feedback
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-30-2011, 12:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
pro2a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 382
Default Issues with buttons

I noticed this when I posted last time an as I am posting now. Attached is a picture... but the buttons above the text box are blank.

Any idea why its doing this?

Attachment 4821
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Capture1.jpg (7.6 KB, 39 views)
__________________

__________________
pro2a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2011, 12:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Issues with buttons

They know about it, bro zjust be patient. I'm sure Baez is working on it.

From what I know about VB, we probably don't have those icons in our custom skin.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2011, 01:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
 
iFargle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 4,029
Default Re: Issues with buttons

Why don't we cut all this VB nonsense out and to go phpBB?
__________________
7700k 32GB RAM 512GB 960 Pro GTX 1080 NCase M1
15" Retina MBP || 64GB Nexus 6P || 64GB iPad Air 2
Battle.net: iFargle #1561 || Steam/Origin: iFargle
iFargle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2011, 02:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Issues with buttons

Quote:
Originally Posted by iFargle View Post
Why don't we cut all this VB nonsense out and to go phpBB?
vB has its quirks but it is still the best out there as far as feature sets go.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2011, 02:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
 
iFargle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 4,029
Default Re: Issues with buttons

The only thing I'm really waiting for is a dark theme

Tech on Vent was one of the best designed forums I've ever visited.
__________________
7700k 32GB RAM 512GB 960 Pro GTX 1080 NCase M1
15" Retina MBP || 64GB Nexus 6P || 64GB iPad Air 2
Battle.net: iFargle #1561 || Steam/Origin: iFargle
iFargle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2011, 02:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Issues with buttons

Do you have any screenshots from ToV you could PM me?
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2011, 03:36 PM   #7 (permalink)
 
iFargle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 4,029
Default Re: Issues with buttons

I think I do... Let me look around.
__________________
7700k 32GB RAM 512GB 960 Pro GTX 1080 NCase M1
15" Retina MBP || 64GB Nexus 6P || 64GB iPad Air 2
Battle.net: iFargle #1561 || Steam/Origin: iFargle
iFargle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2011, 09:58 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Digerati's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 239
Default Re: Issues with buttons

I am still having the missing button labels issue as noted in pro2a's screenshot. Any status on this? Fortunately, you can hover over the buttons to determine what they are, but this is annoying, at best.

I note JonnyGuru, MajorGeeks and Windows BBS all use vBulletin too, and are not experiencing this problem, though they are still on earlier versions. Still, to me, it seems like a skin problem.
__________________
Bill (AFE7Ret)
Freedom is NOT Free!
MS MVP Windows Expert-IT Pro, Engineering 2007 - 2014

Heat is the bane of all electronics!

─────────────────────
Digerati is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2011, 11:13 AM   #9 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Issues with buttons

Quote:
Originally Posted by Digerati View Post
I am still having the missing button labels issue as noted in pro2a's screenshot. Any status on this? Fortunately, you can hover over the buttons to determine what they are, but this is annoying, at best.

I note JonnyGuru, MajorGeeks and Windows BBS all use vBulletin too, and are not experiencing this problem, though they are still on earlier versions. Still, to me, it seems like a skin problem.
The status is it will be fixed when it is fixed. Sorry but the guy who built the skin is a very busy man with a new job that forces him to work a lot of hours a week. It makes it very difficult to do something for free when he is getting paid to work the other job.

Yes there are plenty of sites that use vB and yes they all show the buttons. Yes it is a skin issue. It is the very same thing that was noted by our owner right after the upgrade was done. We know about it but there is nothing that we can do. Everyone wanted a custom skin, so they got it. Every time an upgrade is done this happens. We have to wait for Baez or we straight up forget the custom skin and go back to the default. Those are the only options available.

1.) Delete the custom skin and Go back to the default
2.) Wait for Baez to fix it

The choices.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2011, 12:08 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Digerati's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 239
Default Re: Issues with buttons

Well, then I think there should be a user option to select the custom, or the default skin.

I fully understand and appreciate budgets, especially when providing a free service. But clearly this is a problem, so if work cannot be done to fix the issues, then maybe a rollback to the last known working version is in order until time can be spent on it.
__________________

__________________
Bill (AFE7Ret)
Freedom is NOT Free!
MS MVP Windows Expert-IT Pro, Engineering 2007 - 2014

Heat is the bane of all electronics!

─────────────────────
Digerati is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Buttons Valiant Forum Admin, Announcements & Feedback 7 12-25-2008 06:23 AM
Optimizing Buttons! (One blank template for many buttons) Eugi Web Graphics and Design 0 03-13-2006 01:50 PM
pc buttons and led harry18 Overclocking and Modding 5 02-25-2006 01:37 PM
volume buttons?? PERL Microsoft Windows and Software 4 07-22-2004 08:28 PM
More Buttons CableModem Forum Admin, Announcements & Feedback 7 05-23-2004 02:56 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.