Forum bug - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Techist Forum Information > Forum Admin, Announcements & Feedback
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-28-2012, 09:42 PM   #31 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Forum bug

Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
Actually, IMO, I was correct. In a sense that I didn't know the test site died with Larry. So I'm right but wrong.
No it is not correct in any sense. As per your exact words and I quote:

Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
I know they do.
No where in there is there any sense that you think the test site is not in existence at all. You stated like it was a fact that we do have a test site, even with the new owners. The statement is wrong, completely. There is no other sides to it than that. These are the facts. I am correcting the facts so that our members dont think that we are pushing out updates when we could be testing them, which is not the case at all.

Another fact is that such statements misrepresent the site and the administration. It makes it look like we are doing things without thinking them through. Which is not the case. The update was pushed out cause there was some major flaws in the software, something Trotter already stated. It was an update that was necessary. Yes it broke the skin, but that is always the case. I cant remember a time when a vB update with version 4 has not broken the skin. It has been addressed and fixed.

I am not arguing nor fighting about this. I am stating facts and correcting false statements made. Nothing more.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 11:03 PM   #32 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Forum bug

I knew they did have one prior to your saying. Your saying not so, made my words false. This could've gone a bit different?
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2012, 11:59 PM   #33 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Re: Forum bug

You would think the people that write these updates would keep compatibility with skins intact instead of always breaking them.
c0rr0sive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 12:20 AM   #34 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default Re: Forum bug

Quote:
Originally Posted by c0rr0sive View Post
You would think the people that write these updates would keep compatibility with skins intact instead of always breaking them.
And if this version had been written by the original vB team it probably would have been fine, but it wasn't since they all quit and formed their own company when vB changed hands.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 12:31 AM   #35 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Forum bug

Will 3.8 be easier on us?
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 12:34 AM   #36 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default Re: Forum bug

It should. it was the last release by the original team.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 01:24 AM   #37 (permalink)
The Ghost
 
luke127's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 838
Default Re: Forum bug

Which will be the best quality I will assume? ever since this 4.1.11 update all the login stuff is a little uh screwed up I guess? And it's more annoying than anything.
__________________
Yeah, I'm the boss 😂😂 FIGJAM 😂😂
luke127 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 03:18 AM   #38 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 540
Default Re: Forum bug

meh 3.8 is nowhere near as awesome as IPB is though. I <3 IPB!!!
remixedcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 03:24 AM   #39 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 540
Default Re: Forum bug

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
It should. it was the last release by the original team.
Which is now Xenforo... have you tried it out it's awesome! Not as good as IPB though as it lacks some features, but it's my 2nd choice in forum software. It's super freakin fast!!!

VB people that made 3.8 made Xenforo and they got Kier Darby founded it and they started fresh like they wanted to with VB4 but Internet Brands (which bought Jelsoft) wanted agile dev. and wanted to tack on stuff rather then rewrite the VB4 core from scratch. Kier and his team did not want to do that so they left VB/IB and then went to make Xenforo.
remixedcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 03:14 PM   #40 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
tj_extreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA.
Posts: 812
Default Re: Forum bug

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yami View Post
Is there some meaning of tweaking there that I'm missing?
It must be an American thing.. Like, tweaking when you're mad or on drugs. Yeah, Chrome was tweaking.
__________________

__________________
tj_extreme is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
online booking forum and enquire forum jay_bo Programming 4 07-25-2007 05:08 PM
A Distributions Forum inside the Linux forum? jakec Forum Admin, Announcements & Feedback 1 01-25-2006 09:16 PM
forum bug using tech theme bryguy2323 Off Topic Discussion 2 08-13-2003 03:02 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.