Folding @ Home - Page 46 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Techist Forum Information > Forum Admin, Announcements & Feedback
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-21-2007, 07:26 PM   #451 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Folding @ Home

I've gone back to the old Windows client. I can't tell any difference between it and the console for speed. I can't use the GPU.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 05-21-2007, 07:36 PM   #452 (permalink)
Try again!
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 896
Send a message via AIM to motoxer4533 Send a message via MSN to motoxer4533
Default Re: Folding @ Home

Oh.. When I first started, I used the GPU, but now I'm using the Console. I didn't know if there was a difference - maybe I just need a better PC. :/
__________________

motoxer4533 is offline  
Old 05-21-2007, 07:55 PM   #453 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Phantom118's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 724
Default Re: Folding @ Home

Quote:
Originally Posted by motoxer4533 View Post
Oh.. When I first started, I used the GPU, but now I'm using the Console. I didn't know if there was a difference - maybe I just need a better PC. :/
No... You used GUI... GPU is folding with your graphics card.. as of now only Ati cards can do that..
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3282468
Phantom118 is offline  
Old 05-21-2007, 08:30 PM   #454 (permalink)
Try again!
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 896
Send a message via AIM to motoxer4533 Send a message via MSN to motoxer4533
Default Re: Folding @ Home

Ohh.. Well which one is better b/w Console & GUI?
motoxer4533 is offline  
Old 05-21-2007, 08:41 PM   #455 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Folding @ Home

Use the console. The GUI isn't necessary.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-21-2007, 09:01 PM   #456 (permalink)
Try again!
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 896
Send a message via AIM to motoxer4533 Send a message via MSN to motoxer4533
Default Re: Folding @ Home

Ok, I'll stick with it then. Just trying to find a way to help the team .

One thing I do wish that they would do is remove or at least move the inactive members. I say this because as I start to move up in the ranks a little bit, all I'm doing is passing inactive members - I would like to see those not active in their own seperate list and those who are active to be displayed in a different list.

Guess its all just wishing though.
motoxer4533 is offline  
Old 05-21-2007, 09:09 PM   #457 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Phantom118's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 724
Default Re: Folding @ Home

Tech-Forums Individual Users List - EXTREME Overclocking Folding @ Home Stats

everyone who is grey is not active..
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3282468
Phantom118 is offline  
Old 05-21-2007, 09:10 PM   #458 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Folding @ Home

lol phantom, pretty soon we'll be competing for the top spot. You are so close to that 1k 24hr avg.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-21-2007, 09:25 PM   #459 (permalink)
Try again!
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 896
Send a message via AIM to motoxer4533 Send a message via MSN to motoxer4533
Default Re: Folding @ Home

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phantom118 View Post
everyone who is grey is not active..
I know... I mean just the people who are active are in their own list - those who are inactive aren't in that list.
motoxer4533 is offline  
Old 05-21-2007, 09:32 PM   #460 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Folding @ Home

It doesn't really matter, if the active and inactive are on separate list. What matters, is that us, active members, are contributing to the team.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.