Folding @ Home - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Techist Forum Information > Forum Admin, Announcements & Feedback
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-03-2006, 07:03 AM   #31 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 240
Default

Just started folding, Its a good excuse to convince my parents to let me buy watercooling and its for a good cause! One thing I have to say though is if you made it more obvious(eg puttin a sticky in places where more people look, the overclocking forum etc) that Tech-Forums had a folding team then I think more people would join. One day I just decided I was going to start folding and the first team I thought about joining was ABIT. At first, It didnt cross my mind that TF may have a team. But I Used the good old search button
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://www.dynasig.net/?id=3738\"><img src=\"http://serve.dynasig.net/3738.gif\" width=\"350\" height=\"85\" alt=\"Signature\" border=\"0\" /></a><br />
Chris_PC is offline  
Old 06-04-2006, 07:09 PM   #32 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

I'm fixing up my old Athlon XP just for this. I'll let ya know.
__________________

The General is offline  
Old 06-04-2006, 11:13 PM   #33 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

Whoever asked about the Linux executable earlier, yes, it is an EXE file (only God knows why they did that), but if you change the permissions of the file as it says to on the README and then ./ or sh it, it WILL work.
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 06-05-2006, 02:04 AM   #34 (permalink)
Indeed.
 
Greg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,600
Default

Ah, you are right. Thanks for that, I will try to start folding soon
__________________

Greg is offline  
Old 06-15-2006, 07:18 AM   #35 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default

Joined.
woot7800GT is offline  
Old 06-29-2006, 11:27 PM   #36 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I'm climbing up the ladder now:
http://vspx27.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/m...&teamnum=12864

I seem to have found a good setup and location for my wireless antenna. I also put one of these reflectors on the antennas to my router, and my wireless network card.

anyway, with my Sempron hitting an absolute maximum of 29ºC (at 100% load), I can run it almost 24/7 now.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-30-2006, 01:14 AM   #37 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Keep those WU's rolling... but don't get too close to me.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 06-30-2006, 06:23 PM   #38 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

I can't keep mine running 24/7 but it runs a good chunk of the day; my parents get mad if I leave it on ALL the time.

Also, I have it on my dad's machine, and he's been using it a lot lately, so I'm getting a lot of my WUs from there lately.
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 06-30-2006, 08:54 PM   #39 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Qiranworms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,635
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by macdude425
Whoever asked about the Linux executable earlier, yes, it is an EXE file (only God knows why they did that), but if you change the permissions of the file as it says to on the README and then ./ or sh it, it WILL work.
It's only named as an EXE file. Basically, an extension, which...don't make a difference on a *nix system.
__________________
-->Marc
Error: Keyboard not attached. Please press F1 to continue. <pre>-------OS----------Gentoo Linux-------<br>------Browser-----Mozilla Firefox-----</pre><form action="http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php" method="get"><input type="text" name="search"> <input type="submit" name="submit" value="Search the Forums, thanks to Emily"></form>

|||Official Forum Rules|||<hr>
Qiranworms is offline  
Old 07-01-2006, 01:48 PM   #40 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

so far I'm going at a rate of about 2 WU's every 3-4 days on my system
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.