Folding @ Home - Page 38 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Techist Forum Information > Forum Admin, Announcements & Feedback
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-16-2007, 08:17 AM   #371 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Folding @ Home

Happens to me sometimes. It attempts to send several times. And then after like the 3rd time, it successfully sends.

I did say yes to the greater than 5mb question, but I still get 250,000 step WUs. When you get those 4-5 million step WUs, how many points are they worth?
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-16-2007, 08:29 AM   #372 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Phantom118's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 724
Default Re: Folding @ Home

5 Mill is worth 186 and 4 mil is worth 206

How many points and how long does it take to do a 250,000. It might be using a different core all together
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3282468
Phantom118 is offline  
Old 05-16-2007, 08:30 AM   #373 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Folding @ Home

wow....the 250,000 step WUs I get, are worth 500 points. And it takes a little more than a day to finish one.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-16-2007, 08:46 AM   #374 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Phantom118's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 724
Default Re: Folding @ Home

yeah points depend on time, A 4 mil is worth more then a 5 mil because it takes the same amount of time and has less steps, I usually do a 4 or 5 million in 23 hours.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3282468
Phantom118 is offline  
Old 05-16-2007, 08:49 AM   #375 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Folding @ Home

So the faster you finish, the more points you get? Because, yesterday I did finish a bit faster, and I got 574 points instead of 500.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-16-2007, 09:00 AM   #376 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Phantom118's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 724
Default Re: Folding @ Home

not that I know of, unless there are bonus points, lets say It takes you 24 hours for you to do a 250,000 work unit, and takes me 24 hours to do a 5million work unit, Yours is going to be worth more then mine because it takes just as long to do and only has 250,000 steps.

In the time it takes for you to do 250,000 steps, I did 5 million so yours is obvisouly going to be worth more because its a more difficult work unit.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3282468
Phantom118 is offline  
Old 05-16-2007, 09:31 AM   #377 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Folding @ Home

How come sometimes, it takes 50 minutes to do 1%, and other times, 15 minutes to do 1%? When it's 15 minutes, it can do 4% per hour. I'm annoyed that, now it's taking 50 minutes to do 1%.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 05-16-2007, 09:37 AM   #378 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Phantom118's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 724
Default Re: Folding @ Home

I have no Idea, are you doing anything on the computer besides browsing tech forums that could slow it down?
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3282468
Phantom118 is offline  
Old 05-16-2007, 09:51 AM   #379 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,301
Default Re: Folding @ Home

Hmmm... the console seems to be having trouble trying to send a work unit back to the server... this happen to any of ya'll?
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 05-16-2007, 09:55 AM   #380 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Phantom118's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 724
Default Re: Folding @ Home

same here Trotter,... must be the servers.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3282468
Phantom118 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.