edit post bug - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Techist Forum Information > Forum Admin, Announcements & Feedback
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-04-2009, 01:16 AM   #1 (permalink)
Inspired by Art
 
tastegw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,400
Default edit post bug

it may just be my software or what not.

but when i go to edit a post, and click submit when im done, it does not reload the page for me.

but it does get the edit job done. i just have to manually click a link or the back button to get out of it.

just a heads up if its not my rig's fault lol.

if it is my rigs fault, "halp ma"

edit: btw, after hitting "save" ....ill just show you a screen shot (give me 2 mins)
..

.....edit again, seems to be working fine now...strange, after about 3 days of the "done but error" error on the bottom of my ie7 i finally decided to report it, and now its fixed? haha
__________________

__________________
tastegw is offline  
Old 02-04-2009, 03:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: edit post bug

Yes this is known. I brought this up a while ago and it seems to happen on and off and it seems to be browser specific.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-04-2009, 03:35 AM   #3 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: edit post bug

It'll hopefully be fixed in vBulletin 3.8.1.

It started happening when the server was updated to 3.8.0.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 02-04-2009, 10:04 AM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: edit post bug

3.8.1 is available. I wonder if Larry has gotten the notification on it...
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-04-2009, 11:51 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default Re: edit post bug

Do you not have Superadmin rights Trotter? I notion that you get SA rights and FTP rights cause you are always on and can deal with problems quickly.
__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Old 02-04-2009, 12:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Yek
T.F's Resident Cool Guy...
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,613
Send a message via AIM to Yek Send a message via MSN to Yek Send a message via Yahoo to Yek
Default Re: edit post bug

Trott's not got FTP rights, thats Larry and Dave, Trotter can just mod stuff through the AdminCP.

Worth a shot, sounds like a IE problem then..

Cheers
Yek is offline  
Old 02-04-2009, 12:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: edit post bug

Neither Dave nor I have superadmin. Dave does have FTP, though. Larry is the one who has to do the updates.

The edit bug is in all browsers: IE, Opera, and Firefox. Hopefully the next update (3.8.1) will get it. I don't know if we aer the only one with it or if it is a widespread problem.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-04-2009, 01:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: edit post bug

I have this problem also (using firefox) I thought it was just my dial up connection...Guess not.
__________________

__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VMware Users - Date bug kills VMWare systems Osiris Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 1 08-12-2008 12:53 PM
Fix for Restart Bug after installing Windows XP SP3 Osiris Microsoft Windows and Software 3 05-18-2008 12:46 PM
MSN dispaly bug? maple Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 5 02-01-2008 09:40 PM
No POST Snake91839 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 9 11-28-2007 10:34 PM
Excel 2007 bug superdave1984 Microsoft Windows and Software 0 09-26-2007 11:48 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.