eBay Spoofing (Fraud) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Techist Forum Information > Forum Admin, Announcements & Feedback
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-17-2004, 09:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
HoLoCroN's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Plant City, FL
Posts: 1,305
Exclamation eBay Spoofing (Fraud)

Everyone, just a warning on a series of emails sent out by scammers trying to steal your eBay user name/Password.


This message was forwarded to me, after some investigation and a quick email to eBay's Fraud department (spoof@ebay.com) In less than five minutes my doubts were confirmed. The site looks surprisingly real...

Here is what the message said. I believe eBay had the site shut down already so the link will be dead but its good to keep in mind.

Dear "Your eBay Account",

During our regular update and verification of the accounts, we could not verify your current information. Either your information has changed or it is incomplete.

As a result, your access to bid or buy on eBay has been restricted.

According to our site policy you will have to confirm that you are the real owner of the eBay account by log in and verify your identity or else your account will be suspended without the right to register again with eBay.

Click on the link below in order to login and verify your information:


Thank you

eBay Customer Support

HoLoCroN is offline  
Old 03-24-2004, 09:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 788

How u know it was a scam? To me i would have known when they asked for my account info. They specifically say they will never ask for that in there agreement. but by the link i would nevr have known

XT is offline  
Old 03-24-2004, 11:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
HoLoCroN's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Plant City, FL
Posts: 1,305

Sent an email to eBay to let them know about the scam, I got a reply in less than five minutes confirming it.

I just posted it because it looks so legit!

Who knows, maybe someone out there was able to benefit from this.
HoLoCroN is offline  
Old 03-29-2004, 06:10 AM   #4 (permalink)
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 444

yeah and the site looks legit as well i wrote a little message to the scammer through my login username lol
HardKore{Killa} is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:19 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.