Display sig once per thread? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Techist Forum Information > Forum Admin, Announcements & Feedback
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-06-2008, 05:41 AM   #11 (permalink)
Yek
T.F's Resident Cool Guy...
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,613
Send a message via AIM to Yek Send a message via MSN to Yek Send a message via Yahoo to Yek
Default Re: Display sig once per thread?

Large "block sigs", sigs which appear to be one large block of an image (Trotter, b1gapl, and Peter) take up lots of space on the screen, your eye is drawn away from the post and to the bright and pretty colours below.

Sigs with just plain text, or text and an image (such as backup, chris's and mine) are less invasive on the eyes (and take shorter load times)

However i doubt that most users (who spend alot of time one their sigs) would not want such restrictions imposed on them

I think we have to find a happy medium here, if we did go for the only one sig option, users on a slow connection (the ones we are trying to help) would see the large sigs and hit back becuase they couldnt be bothered to wait. Clearly this would be non members, dial up, coming in from a search engiene and not realise that it would only load once.

Tech-Forums members would also be a little more, how can I put this, "rebellious" and think that becuase their sig was only going to get 1 post in the spot light they would need to cram as much in as possiable!

Im not sure, definatly my text only mode could work, and the SE's would love it!

Cheers
__________________

Yek is offline  
Old 01-06-2008, 06:45 AM   #12 (permalink)
Indeed.
 
Greg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,600
Default Re: Display sig once per thread?

I'm not on dial-up or anything, but I wouldn't mind this myself. Scrolling though pages of sigs does get annoying after a while.


Doesn't matter, though, since it's never gonna get implemented. Half the links on this forum don't even work.
__________________

__________________

Greg is offline  
Old 01-06-2008, 07:20 AM   #13 (permalink)
Yek
T.F's Resident Cool Guy...
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,613
Send a message via AIM to Yek Send a message via MSN to Yek Send a message via Yahoo to Yek
Default Re: Display sig once per thread?

It would, but you guessed it, the links are priority.
Yek is offline  
Old 01-07-2008, 09:48 AM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 62
Default Re: Display sig once per thread?

"Yea we shouldn't cater to dial ups, they bought dial up and should deal with their decision"

is a big truth but not all out there bought it just for fun, some bought it cause they cant afford DSL so we shouldnt be too hard on them because of that.

"However i doubt that most users (who spend alot of time one their sigs) would not want such restrictions imposed on them

I think we have to find a happy medium here"


I agree with Tkey here, and I mention again my opinion:

We dont have to make all sigs only text or just to abandon every one to put the sig as the size they want, but I believe that you can make a size restriction, if they want to have a cool sig, they can do it on a 300x100 area... it can be a really cool sig and it doenst have to be 800x600... that way i guess that even though some will complain, they can get used to it and we can read more messages instead of more meaningless signatures (some of them only the owner understands what he wanted to say...ex: mine... so)

thats a suggestion.
__________________
~Wir mussen leben bis wir sterben~
RaptorX is offline  
Old 01-07-2008, 10:12 AM   #15 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Display sig once per thread?

We have a size restriction of 468 x 120. This a TOTAL area, not per image. the only exceptions are for people who are Folding for tech-Forums (they get a userbar and the stats box), and mods (they get a userbar and a little more real estate if they want it).

This limit was put in place because of dialup, as well as to limit the amount of scrolling. The limit is a good one (maybe a little longer would be OK, but that's not up to me).

This is just a suggestion. The main forum where I see this allows much larger sigs than we do, and it woks out great. That forum doesn't use vb, thogh, so the whole point might be moot. It would use vB if it were free or significantly cheaper (the webmaster is a genius with this stuff, and even he says vb is the best).
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-07-2008, 03:45 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: Display sig once per thread?

all sigs should be redone to be maximum like mine....
runs away!!! Runs from all the giant sig people

make it small, and optimized. Dithering is your friend!

edit: also wanted to link to this posting for some people who still have no clue
Dail-up
__________________

atomic tofu is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LCD Display takes long time to display picture upon startup Drewser Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 10-11-2007 06:50 PM
Triple monitors sans Xinerama? Greg Linux and Open Source 3 07-06-2007 01:55 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.