DHTML menu with Flash ads - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Techist Forum Information > Forum Admin, Announcements & Feedback
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-05-2009, 11:22 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default DHTML menu with Flash ads

The ads look to be down now, but before the DHTML (drop-down) menus were falling behind the Flash ads. I had a similar problem on a website and found the solution in case you want to use it.

In the 'object' tags you want to add a parameter to the Flash movie. It is the "wmode" parameter and you want it to be set to "opaque" or "transparent". This way it will fall behind other dynamic content like AJAX or DHTML. So it would look like the following:
[HTML]<param name="wmode" value="transparent">[/HTML]
the entire code looking something like:
[HTML]<object classid="clsid27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000" codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=6,0,29,0" width="300" height="300">
<param name="movie" value="wmode.swf">
<param name="quality" value="high">
<param name="wmode" value="transparent">
<embed src="wmode.swf" quality="high" pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="300" height="300" wmode="transparent"></embed></object>[/HTML]
<object classid="clsid<img src=" images="" smilies="" biggrin.gif="" alt="" title="Big Grin" smilieid="3" class="inlineimg" border="0">
</object>Here are some sites that explain more about this:
Flash content displays on top of all DHTML layers
How to make a Flash movie with a transparent background
__________________

__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Old 08-05-2009, 12:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: DHTML menu with Flash ads

The Amazon ad was removed. Maybe if we try it in the future we can remember this.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Giveaway of the Day - Tree Menu 2.9 Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 06-02-2009 08:13 AM
Installing Flash in Ubuntu 9.04 with Firefox Osiris Linux Tips and Tricks 1 05-07-2009 10:36 PM
Giveaway of the Day - DHTML Menu 9.2 Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 05-05-2009 08:40 AM
FlashPlayer version? ThriceLabs Microsoft Windows and Software 1 12-24-2008 12:24 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.