Could one of the Administrators who does the coding for TF check somethings please ? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Techist Forum Information > Forum Admin, Announcements & Feedback
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-16-2012, 12:19 AM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Could one of the Administrators who does the coding for TF check somethings please ?

I do not know whats going on, but chrome has warned me for 6th time about certificates on your main page when I visit.

http://www.techist.com, after hitting reload 2 or 3 times, I finally get in and the paid ads you have are carrying around uneeded bloatware.

NOD32 v5.0 picked up on a few of the banners in OC help sub-forum and windows help sub-forum.
I let MSSENTIALs take a quick sniff while surfing around this weekend and it blocked some stuff in here.
I know you guys are plenty busy with other stuff, when you have a chance have a look around the forum and see if anything I mentioned comes up similiar.
__________________

-RockMan- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 12:28 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Could one of the Administrators who does the coding for TF check somethings please ?

Did this ever happen to you before, Mike? Could be just your AV getting used to the new packets being thrown at it... *shrug*

The easy answer: Don't go on the main page. j/k j/k
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 01:06 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 540
Default Re: Could one of the Administrators who does the coding for TF check somethings please ?

no problems here.... no cert errors....
remixedcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 09:24 AM   #4 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 25
Default Re: Could one of the Administrators who does the coding for TF check somethings please ?

Hmm this is pretty serious so could everyone reading this please chime in if you have seen any activity like this too? I just browsed around a bit and have not got any ESET alerts as of yet. Still looking.
Tech Admin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 10:09 AM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Could one of the Administrators who does the coding for TF check somethings please ?

Nothing here but I use Firefox with several security extensions and MSE.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 11:03 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord of Bacon
 
Roark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,352
Default Re: Could one of the Administrators who does the coding for TF check somethings please ?

Using Chrome as well (up to date as 16.0.912.75 m) without any plug-ins/extensions/etc.
Haven't had any cert issues, but also never been to techist.com until you linked it.

Everything is running normally for me in the forums, home page (/pc/content), and on your link.
__________________
Please read through the thread thoroughly before responding.
Nobody wants to read a wall of text, formatting is your friend.

i5 3570k | 8GB G.Skill 1600MHz | R9 290 | SeaSonic 750X
Roark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 12:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Could one of the Administrators who does the coding for TF check somethings please ?

I have visited the page using Chrome, Canary and Chromium with MSE installed. No Cert errors nor any other problems. This is an issue with one of the extensions he has installed or a combination of extensions messing with Eset.

It could also be the fact that he has Eset AND MSE installed. Causing double negatives. Since MSE doesnt have a on demand scanner which means both would have to be installed causing the 2 programs to have conflicts.

I have visited the site using Opera, Opera Next, Safari, IE 9, IE 9 x64, IE 10, Firefox Alpha, Firefox Beta, Firefox final as well as Maxathon. So far over a dozen browsers used with that exact page and not a single problem for me.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 03:04 PM   #8 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Could one of the Administrators who does the coding for TF check somethings please ?

Just a thought, but Mike's cert list may have been out of date. I've had that happen before.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 03:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: Could one of the Administrators who does the coding for TF check somethings please ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by KSoD View Post
I have visited the page using Chrome, Canary and Chromium with MSE installed. No Cert errors nor any other problems. This is an issue with one of the extensions he has installed or a combination of extensions messing with Eset.

It could also be the fact that he has Eset AND MSE installed. Causing double negatives. Since MSE doesnt have a on demand scanner which means both would have to be installed causing the 2 programs to have conflicts.

I have visited the site using Opera, Opera Next, Safari, IE 9, IE 9 x64, IE 10, Firefox Alpha, Firefox Beta, Firefox final as well as Maxathon. So far over a dozen browsers used with that exact page and not a single problem for me.
You are partially correct about me having both AV installed, but I have MSE disabled partially.
Also I did a run again with chrome and apparently the cert problem has stopped, however eset keeps blocking out some ads with some nonsense leading to other false ip addresses in it while reading some posts around the forum.

Anyway, I Just wanted to be sure of it and make you guys aware of what I'm seing, I know you guys have taken TF through some changes and tried to fix somethings, but it still isn't perfectly normal like it use to be.
-RockMan- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 03:49 PM   #10 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 25
Default Re: Could one of the Administrators who does the coding for TF check somethings please ?

I have ESET and not getting any messages.. Been trying logged in and out with several different browsers...
__________________

Tech Admin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
System Administrators need Black Coffee Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 08-29-2008 03:15 PM
somethings on its way out. Peter.Cort Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 06-01-2008 10:56 AM
somethings not right leakee_leak HijackThis Logs (finished) 5 01-27-2008 05:20 PM
Allowing non-administrators to use Remote Administration on Terminal Services Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 04-22-2006 11:27 PM
How to Change the Main Administrators Password Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 01-07-2006 10:46 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.