Avatir Size - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Techist Forum Information > Forum Admin, Announcements & Feedback
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-16-2004, 11:28 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 69
Default Avatir Size

I am used to having images be downsized, but on the Car And Driver Forums, you can submit an avitar of any size and they make it smaller. I'd like it if you could do that too.
__________________

__________________
Dell Dimension 8250
2.4 GHz Pentium 4
512 MB of PC 1066 RDRAM
64 MB Geforce with TV-out
17\" 1702FP Flat Panel Display
120 GB Hard Drive (ATA?)
Windows XP Professional
Office XP Professional
MFG Dec \'02
CableModem is offline  
Old 06-17-2004, 11:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: "Almost Heaven" USA
Posts: 4,866
Send a message via AIM to Dave Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
Default

For a small fee, I could do that.

Does someone do that, or is it a function of the forums (like a mod or hack)?

Dave
__________________

Dave is offline  
Old 07-01-2004, 02:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 376
Default

I just use Vicman's Photo Editor. Its a free download and really simple to use, you open the pic and click "edit", "resize", and enter the dimensions, takes about 3 seconds!
__________________
Rockets Rule!!!
2Crunk is offline  
Old 07-07-2004, 09:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

probably just a simple hack, to say that any uploaded image must be displayed at 80x80
Demalii is offline  
Old 07-07-2004, 10:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,364
Send a message via AIM to shan
Default

well, if the server's got the GD Libraries installed in it you can mess around with a lot of images and what not, create images and modify images....if Larry and Jack have them, it's probably some easy thing like
PHP Code:
<?php
if ($imagesize 80x80){
$gdimageresize 80x80;
$functionsavegdimageupdatedwithnewresolution;
}else{
poop
}
?>
that's really nothing, but it would probably be pretty easy, i really haven't messed with the gd functions of php...
__________________
<center><h2><font color=\"red\">C:\\ Is the root of all evil</font></h2>
<hr width=\"50%\">
phiber@sysdum.com
spam this account, it's fun.
shan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.