Add your system specs to your Profile! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Techist Forum Information > Forum Admin, Announcements & Feedback
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-16-2012, 11:52 AM   #1 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Add your system specs to your Profile!

That's right you read it here. As per a suggestion brought about by PPMguire in the topic here, the ability to add your System Specs to your Profile is now here. To do so all you to get this is just edit your profile using this link.

After you add in some or all of the information provided you will see your profile reflects the changes. Granted at this time it is present in 2 locations, under the About Me page and its own tab, which I am working on. But at least it is progress and a step forward. So I ask that everyone takes the time to input their specs. If you have a pre-built machine, you can get the specs from the manufacturer's website.

Lets show some pride in our PC's! Here is what the pages look like:


The About Me Page


In its own tab

If there are anymore suggestions please bring them up in a separate topic and I will look into working on them.

Regards,
KSoD
Tech & Computer Forums Administrator
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 12:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Add your system specs to your Profile!

Also if it's a prebuilt or Laptop, a model number would be just fine.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 12:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Add your system specs to your Profile!

Will add that option in right now to stave off them looking.

There is now an option to select Pre-Built or Self Built. From there you can fill in the Manufacturer and Model. Will save time that way instead of having to fill in all the details.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 04:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Add your system specs to your Profile!

Would be interesting if we could get new members to fill that stuff out prior to posting, would make life simple instead of always having to ask exactly what model component X and Y is... Then again, they would probably half *** the input....
c0rr0sive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 05:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Add your system specs to your Profile!

As stated in the topic started by PP, I wont have it be part of the Registration for multitude of reasons. The first being the fact that not everyone know that information and the 2nd not everyone is here for hardware related information. So putting their system specs in is pointless if they want infection removal help or just a question on Windows.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 08:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: Add your system specs to your Profile!

Quote:
Originally Posted by c0rr0sive View Post
Would be interesting if we could get new members to fill that stuff out prior to posting, would make life simple instead of always having to ask exactly what model component X and Y is... Then again, they would probably half *** the input....
we could have a sticky similar to Hardforum's sticky
Code:
If you're gonna ask us to build/list a PC for you or seek advice about a build, please answer all of the following questions:

1) What will you be doing with this PC? Gaming? Photoshop? Web browsing? etc
2) What's your budget? Are tax and shipping included? 
3) Which country do you live in? If the U.S, please tell us the state and city if possible. 
4) What exact parts do you need for that budget? CPU, RAM, case, etc. The word "Everything" is not a valid answer. Please list out all the parts you'll need. 
5) If reusing any parts, what parts will you be reusing? Please be especially specific about the power supply. List make and model.
6) Will you be overclocking?
7) What is the max resolution of your monitor? What size is it?
8) When do you plan on building/buying the PC?
9) What features do you need in a motherboard? RAID? Firewire? Crossfire or SLI support? USB 3.0? SATA 6Gb/s? eSATA? Onboard video (as a backup or main GPU)? UEFI? etc.
10) Do you already have a legit and reusable/transferable OS key/license? If yes, what OS? Is it 32bit or 64bit?
reference linky


And a similar sticky for the troubleshooting forum.
IE -
1. what's your hardware configuration (and how to identify them if you dont know).
2. OS system
3. describe the problem. is it an isolated case? if not, how frequent does it occur?


but then, who reads stickies these days? I know I don't
Fat.Clown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2012, 10:07 PM   #7 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,306
Default Re: Add your system specs to your Profile!

The problem with stickies and rules are, people don't read them, and it's quite obvious. That's why I was hoping for some sort of reg process that can be skipped or something. If it's too hard, I guess we will just have to deal with it lol.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 04:37 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Milk_The_Elephnt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: England,west midlands
Posts: 87
Default Re: Add your system specs to your Profile!

Cant really brag about my terrible set up...but hey, a great addition me thinks, thank you.
__________________

Milk_The_Elephnt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
System Specs add in. PP Mguire Forum Admin, Announcements & Feedback 27 08-15-2012 11:17 PM
My new system specs Pywong New Systems | Building and Buying 3 08-25-2008 02:37 PM
Add Hard Drive Songs to Your Myspace Profile Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 12-15-2007 03:30 AM
System specs 24giovanni Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 01-31-2007 11:56 AM
New System Specs Thresh Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 8 12-09-2004 09:41 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.