What hosting do you use? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > ISP and Web Hosting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-20-2018, 06:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Virgin Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 1
Default What hosting do you use?

I have been searching for the right hosting platform to use. Many people recommended HostGator, SiteGround, and Bluehost. Have any of you used these platforms before? Can you recommend me a good platform for a WordPress website. I've been thinking about using Dreamhost, but then I learned that they do not offer any phone support which was a huge turn off. Please to me what hosting have you had a good experience with. Any advice given will be appreciated, thank you.
__________________

__________________
jameshart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2018, 07:40 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Lithuania
Posts: 2
Default Re: What hosting do you use?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jameshart View Post
I have been searching for the right hosting platform to use. Many people recommended HostGator, SiteGround, and Bluehost. Have any of you used these platforms before? Can you recommend me a good platform for a WordPress website. I've been thinking about using Dreamhost, but then I learned that they do not offer any phone support which was a huge turn off. Please to me what hosting have you had a good experience with. Any advice given will be appreciated, thank you.
Almost for 3 years, I have worked with Hostens provider and I have not faced, any issues with their services. I would like to continue, their hosting services in further, because of their fully satisfactory services and expert support team which resolved my queries in minutes. I updated my plans according to my needs, at affordable prices.
__________________

__________________
JohnyMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2019, 10:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 9
Default Re: What hosting do you use?

Hosting is better not to buy. Once I ordered biz.nf hosting and my account was irrevocably blocked for reloading. I promoted my website with "Black SEO".
There are restrictions on hosting. There are no restrictions on VPS. And your own VPS can be loaded as you like. Better to pay more.
__________________
vitalbrovar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2019, 12:05 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
U.F.O.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 221
Default Re: What hosting do you use?

* Good advice. If you have property with isp connection that is fast enough, you could always have a server at that location with the site on it locally and serve it your self.
__________________
U.F.O. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2019, 08:35 AM   #5 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,836
Default Re: What hosting do you use?

Quote:
Originally Posted by U.F.O. View Post
* Good advice. If you have property with isp connection that is fast enough, you could always have a server at that location with the site on it locally and serve it your self.
Have to be careful with that advice...some ISPs ToS's it's not allowed to host services without a business account.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Google Pixel XL


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2019, 10:08 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
U.F.O.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 221
Default Re: What hosting do you use?

Omg that's so lame.... I haven't done that for a long time and it was a private site, not indexed, low traffic, isp never looked. It was so long ago they gave me free binary usenet access. Lol that didn't last long.

Most people do vps now I guess?
__________________
U.F.O. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2019, 10:47 AM   #7 (permalink)
 
iFargle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: N/A
Posts: 4,319
Default Re: What hosting do you use?

I've been hosting mine for years without issue. Cox Communications and Grande Communications.
__________________

- iFargle.com -
Desktop || 7700k • 32GB RAM • 2TB M.2 SATA • GTX 1080 • DAN A4v4 • Arch Linux
Laptop || 2018 15" MacBook Pro • 16GB RAM • 256GB SSD • Radeon Pro 555X • macOS
128GB OnePlus 6 • 64GB iPad Air 2 || Battle.net: iFargle #1561 • Steam: iFargle
iFargle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2019, 04:41 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
U.F.O.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 221
Default Re: What hosting do you use?

I had cox too when I was and doing newsgroups. 2gb bluray movies downloading as much as I wanted at 20mbps actual speed, man I was in couch potato heaven haha. That was when riaa and mpaa where hacking systems and sending copyright indictments and courts were slow on the uptake and allowed a lot of "pirates" to waive their right to trial and settle for thousands to avoid it rather than legal fees and maybe lose and get something worse. I friend of mine (holy **** dating myself) when we were in college left kazaa with sharing on plugged into dorm room lan. He got served and went to the school law department and they asked sony or whoever lawyer, "How did you know such and such had the content?" And the lawyer admitted to illegally hacking the school and it went away, but they wanted my friend to pay $14k as settlement for illegally distributing Underworld or whatever hot movie he was watching at the time lol.


Anywho screw ToS, ISP's, courts, and all these oligarchs, the internet should be free as should regular society.
__________________
U.F.O. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2019, 10:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Canada
Posts: 4
Default Re: What hosting do you use?

There are a couple of well-know hosting providers dedicated to WP hosting but they are really expensive. For small WP site, I am using Vultr and linode ($5/mo)
__________________

__________________
orchloe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do you map a NAS drive as a network drive when you only know the IP address and you can only use command prompt? CheckDFX Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 08-26-2014 09:36 AM
website hosting + smf hosting? theshonen8899 ISP and Web Hosting 1 07-22-2006 07:44 AM
FREE WEB HOSTING & PAID Hosting in just $0.75/m jawad ISP and Web Hosting 0 06-18-2004 07:23 AM
Hmm I own a web development and hosting company as well as a sig hosting service Eb0la New Member Introductions 5 03-28-2003 09:49 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.