Need help with new website....

Status
Not open for further replies.
Yea I'm probably going to stick with HTML as it seems to be simplest style at the moment. I'm still learning all this so I don't feel like jumping into PHP which I hear is pretty complex. Currently, I'm using FreeWebs to get a basic layout of what I want.

Once I have the layout and basically all the text areas done with what I'm going to want (don't want it t be a cookie cutter of the current site) then I will make it all in DW using some sort of template.

After that, I will go ahead and get the domain/host and actually get going with it.

Questions:
How would I add a shoutbox or something similar to an HTML site?
For making a site with DW, do i make all the pages seperate and link them together with the FTP of the host? I know I can define each link down at the bottom of DW, but I don't know how to define the page itself.

Remember that if you download software such as phpBB or a CMS or something, you don't have to know any PHP at all. You just have to upload files and then install it with the installer script (which is usually just a few forms).

For a shoutbox, you'd need to have a server-side language like PHP or Perl or something to be able to save the data.

I'm not sure what you mean by link them together. Can you explain?

Remember that if you download software such as phpBB or a CMS or something, you don't have to know any PHP at all. You just have to upload files and then install it with the installer script (which is usually just a few forms).

For a shoutbox, you'd need to have a server-side language like PHP or Perl or something to be able to save the data.

I'm not sure what you mean by link them together. Can you explain?

What I mean is we plan on having a home page, about us page, roster page, and then a page that goes to the forums. Do I make those all seperate in DW? Then, when/how do I give them each their web address.