How to ??

Status
Not open for further replies.

johnnae17

Solid State Member
I am new to web hosting. I have used 3rd party sites to host websites before but I dont know anything about hosting my own.

So if u host ur own u just need a computer and the right software ( web hosting ) right ?

If u host ur own site, then u have all the space u need and dont have to pay a provider ?

Do i need permission from my ISP to host a website ?

Thanks to all that answer :D

If you were to run your own web server apache would be the clear solution. It is free and open source. If you have windows advanced server though you could possibly use IIS to host a website. Regardless, you would need a pretty good land connection to your house to host a website. Hosting a site off just a broadband connection isn't ideal unfortunately.

Thank you,
Greg Walker
http://www.fozzy-networks.com
Coldfusion Web Hosting and Discount Web Design

Hmm

I have coldfusion mx btw

I could use that

So what are the problems with hosting from a broadband connection

bandwidth ? what do online hosting sites have that home broadband hosts dont have ?

Thanks

Professional web hosting companies reply on heavy bandwidth to operate. Any website that needs a professional look or needs to be operable 24/7 should be hosted in a datacenter on reliable hardware. Search engines reply heavily on the time it takes to access your website, hence having faster results will boost your rankings.

There are problems with hosting at home, for example, what if your power goes out? Your website will be temporarily offline until your power comes back on and your server reboots properly. Also, you would have to run a DNS service such as bind on yours server as well.