help creating a forum

Status
Not open for further replies.

snypercore

Daemon Poster
ok could someone tell me the steps needed to make and host a forum? starting with getting the website name. thanks

no i havnt, im pretty unclear on the process but i really would like a forum like this one. i want to build a community much like this one.

how much roughly would you say were talking? that seems pricey, maybe to start with i wil start with a free alternative and then upgrade depending on the success. how cna i host at home? i have a spare computer i can use for the server. how would i go about this thakns for any help

ok i stopped being so dam lazy and now have a few real questions.

what does no-ip actaully do
can i get apache and no-ip in linux? (ubuntu) as the server wil be hosted on a linux machine
how hard is apache to set up? also im pretty new to linux.
once i have apache and no-ip setup is there an app for free forums? or a method of getting a forum for free, if all goes well ill buy the vbull. thanks

phpBB • Creating Communities Worldwide
Home of SMF: Free PHP and MySQL forum software
PunBB

There are other free forums but they have slipped my mind. All of the above use MySQL and PHP, and should work fine on Ubuntu once you have everything installed.

Yes, no-ip can be installed on linux. It's quite easy, if you have the instructions.

The Newbie's Guide to the No-IPâ„¢ Linux Client

No-IP acts as a dynamic DNS updater. I'm not sure if you are familiar with this, but here's a quick laymans explanation: