Big help, making an FTP server

Status
Not open for further replies.

psp_crazy1

Daemon Poster
Yep. I forget about FTP's, i set one up, but it was like 2 years ago. I got a few questions.

1 - Can I host it on my computers hard drive, but yet let it be acessable to people outside my network?

2 - What OS should I use? Ubuntu server 64 bit?

3 - Can I host some... "shared" files without the cops on my tail?

4 - I'm a noob, so take it easy on me, and get me a good site :(

So yea, if I cant host it on my HDD, I can spend MAX 25 a month, is that enough, for maybe 10 people and 20 GB max storage?

1 - Yes. Use no-ip.org so people can access your ftp with a domain name instead of IP.
2 - You can use any OS as long you can find a ftp server for it. I used to use Serv-U for windows.
3 - If you protect the FTP with password and only tell your friends you should have no problems.

Regarding the number of users some servers have the option to establish quotas for users. If a user downloads a certain amount of data in a day the ftp server will block that user for that day.

Good luck.

thanks a lot man. What OS do you reccomend? I'm just afraid of hackers, and I bet windows server is more vulnerable than ubuntu 64 bit. Since im not looking for a free FTP server, I'm glad i can go out and find a decent one. I've used no-ip.org before, but it was for IRC. I'm sure a few guys could help me out that I know, setting this up

I only used the ftp server so I could access to my files when I was in University, so I wasn't worried about hackers because I never told anybody the address of the server.
I always heard that linux was more safe than windows so if you are worried about hackers maybe it's best if you use linux, but that's only my opinion.

+Install the OS and FTP server
+Forward the proper ports (21 and 22 for FTP? I don't remember, look it up)
+Set up no-ip or DynDNS

+Install the OS and FTP server
+Forward the proper ports (21 and 22 for FTP? I don't remember, look it up)