Why does our forum show up here? Weird... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > SEO and Web Traffic
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-05-2016, 10:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
steve10765's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 642
Default Why does our forum show up here? Weird...

So I was searching the web with some of my common usernames, this one caught my eye, look at the URL.
Capture!!!!.PNG
Time to investigate!

The domain brings us to auxmoney Kredit 2015 - Die Alternative zur Bank . The language is German and is some loan/banking type website.

This is my original post I found in the forums Do you guys do Folding Home for money?

I also noticed the post count says 582, so that means its been updated fairly recently(current post count is 592).

Any ideas?!?!?
__________________

__________________
Intel i5 4640 - XFX R9 280
Corsair Vengeance 8GB - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB Seasonic 620W PSU
steve10765 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2016, 10:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Zekester2015's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Missouri, USA
Posts: 293
Send a message via Skype™ to Zekester2015
Default Re: Why does our forum show up here? Weird...

i just searched your username to see if i can find it... Wow alot actually comes up
__________________

__________________
Keyboard not found...
Press ENTER to continue...
Zekester2015 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2016, 11:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
steve10765's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 642
Default Re: Why does our forum show up here? Weird...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zekester2015 View Post
i just searched your username to see if i can find it... Wow alot actually comes up
Yeah... Don't read too much haha
__________________
Intel i5 4640 - XFX R9 280
Corsair Vengeance 8GB - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB Seasonic 620W PSU
steve10765 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2016, 11:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Zekester2015's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Missouri, USA
Posts: 293
Send a message via Skype™ to Zekester2015
Cool Re: Why does our forum show up here? Weird...

found ur reddit
__________________
Keyboard not found...
Press ENTER to continue...
Zekester2015 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2016, 08:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,540
Default Re: Why does our forum show up here? Weird...

Looks like the German site is using your post as an attention getter to pull in some clicks. While there have been a very few teams/sponsors who did pay people to Fold back in the day it was not for much and it has all died out AFAIK.

I guess congrats are in order for being clickbait.

The post count is a running total of all of your posts. If you looked up your very first post it would show your current post count on it.
__________________
Cougar MX330-G / Antec EA650 650W / ASUS Radeon RX 580 O4G Dual-Fan OC Edition
AMD Ryzen 5 1600 / MSI B350 Gaming Plus / Samsung 970 EVO 250GB M.2 SSD
WD Blue SSD 250GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB / 2x16GB Corsair Vengence RGB
Win10 Pro x64 / Mionix Naos 7000 / Tecware 87 Key Mechanical

R.I.P. Father Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2016, 09:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
steve10765's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 642
Default Re: Why does our forum show up here? Weird...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
Looks like the German site is using your post as an attention getter to pull in some clicks. While there have been a very few teams/sponsors who did pay people to Fold back in the day it was not for much and it has all died out AFAIK.

I guess congrats are in order for being clickbait.

The post count is a running total of all of your posts. If you looked up your very first post it would show your current post count on it.
Thank you haha

Any idea how my post could've got there though, even with the language barrier?
__________________
Intel i5 4640 - XFX R9 280
Corsair Vengeance 8GB - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB Seasonic 620W PSU
steve10765 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2016, 08:34 AM   #7 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,788
Default Re: Why does our forum show up here? Weird...

Quote:
Originally Posted by steve10765 View Post
Thank you haha

Any idea how my post could've got there though, even with the language barrier?
Bots & crawlers.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Google Pixel XL


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will all this extra camera traffic on our new network slow down our every day computing on our other devices... soarwitheagles Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 06-17-2013 02:29 AM
Deleting our our threads klein1jo Forum Admin, Announcements & Feedback 3 02-16-2006 10:33 PM
Why does my P4 2.4 Ghz only show as 1.8 Ghz??? Dean66 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 25 06-06-2004 05:47 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.