Testing html page - getting an ActiveX popup - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > Web Graphics and Design
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-14-2017, 03:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
rulezero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,684
Default Testing html page - getting an ActiveX popup

Hi all,

Ive created a webpaage and testing it,

when I run it, I get the following pop up:
"restricted this webpage from running scripts or activex controls"

I was told I could use a MOTW inside <head>

so I done:
<!-- saved from url=(0004)test -->

"Test" being the name of the html file, but I still get the pop up and very annoying.

Anyway to stop it for just this one html file, without turning off activeX protection features?
__________________

__________________
Don't like what I say, ban me!
rulezero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2017, 12:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,483
Default Re: Testing html page - getting an ActiveX popup

What exactly are you trying to do in your test?
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2017, 03:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
rulezero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,684
Default Re: Testing html page - getting an ActiveX popup

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
What exactly are you trying to do in your test?
Play a mp4 video located on my server on the webpage
__________________
Don't like what I say, ban me!
rulezero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2017, 03:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
The strange one
 
iParanormalx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: US
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: Testing html page - getting an ActiveX popup

How is the video embedded in the webpage?
__________________

iParanormalx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2017, 04:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
rulezero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,684
Default Re: Testing html page - getting an ActiveX popup

Quote:
Originally Posted by iParanormalx View Post
How is the video embedded in the webpage?
<video controls autoplay>
<source src="C:\path\myvideo.mp4" type="video/mp4">
</video>

Edit - FYI, it works if I allow blocked content
__________________
Don't like what I say, ban me!
rulezero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2017, 04:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
The strange one
 
iParanormalx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: US
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: Testing html page - getting an ActiveX popup

Have you tried another browser?
__________________

iParanormalx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2017, 04:36 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
rulezero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,684
Default Re: Testing html page - getting an ActiveX popup

Quote:
Originally Posted by iParanormalx View Post
Have you tried another browser?
Yeah it works with other browsers, but not straight away with IE unless I allow it.

I want to be able to browse the pages on any browser and want to find a way to atleast make this page alone an exception to the block?
__________________
Don't like what I say, ban me!
rulezero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2017, 04:42 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
rulezero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,684
Default Re: Testing html page - getting an ActiveX popup

Fixed it - any html page you run locally on your machine is considered unsafe as code can be tampered with.

If you add <!-- saved from url=(0014)about:internet --> inside the <head>

You are basically declaring the html safe for that page only.


Hope this helps others in the future
__________________
Don't like what I say, ban me!
rulezero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2017, 04:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
The strange one
 
iParanormalx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: US
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: Testing html page - getting an ActiveX popup

Nice you got it fixed and you might have seen this, but heres some more info.. It says for 8/8.1 but some of those meta tags may be pertinent in other situations

https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/lib...(v=vs.85).aspx
__________________

__________________

iParanormalx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Check HTML With CSE HTML Validator Lite Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 07-10-2009 08:35 AM
converting convert a "compiled html" file to a normal html file or a text file rookie1010 Internet Software and Browsers 1 07-12-2006 10:32 PM
Getting rid of Winfixer 2005 popup (HJT log in post) Defstar HijackThis Logs (finished) 1 09-19-2005 10:12 PM
can we not substitute index.html with main.html? rookie1010 Internet Software and Browsers 4 12-27-2004 07:38 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.