Need help with website! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > Web Graphics and Design
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-07-2015, 06:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Hyrule
Posts: 30
Exclamation Need help with website!

Hello! I have started my website from nearly nothing so I could make it the way I wanted it. I also have some questions about it. First, I have ran into a problem and I am not sure how to fix it. Unfortunately, I do not know how to position things where I wanted it, and the second thing is I do not know how to add scrolling to my website. I have gone to websites and looked for CSS codes and pasted them and tested it, but I simply could not get it to scroll down. You may check it for yourself in developer mode on google chrome. Check the HTML and CSS for yourself and edit it. If you have any solutions, please comment! Thanks!



This is my website link Learn the cube!
__________________

__________________
ISolveCubes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2015, 07:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,648
Default Re: Need help with website!

Scrolling will only occur if the content on the page exceed the resolution on the user's monitor.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2015, 07:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Hyrule
Posts: 30
Default Re: Need help with website!

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Scrolling will only occur if the content on the page exceed the resolution on the user's monitor.

I do not seem to understand that answer very easily. My website has a heading under the video saying TEST FOR SCROLLING. and I cannot scroll down to see it. This is what I placed under the video specifically: <h1>TEST FOR SCROLLING</h1>

Check the coding in Google Chorme if you would like to see what I am talking about. Check out what I placed in the CSS sheet too.
__________________
ISolveCubes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2015, 07:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,648
Default Re: Need help with website!

I see what you mean now. I had to resize the window so it was smaller so everything wouldn't fit on my screen.

Your problem is in your CSS class for the body tag. You have "position: fixed;" which gives it a fixed position, thus making the entire body (and it's children) non-scrollable.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2015, 07:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Hyrule
Posts: 30
Default Re: Need help with website!

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
I see what you mean now. I had to resize the window so it was smaller so everything wouldn't fit on my screen.

Your problem is in your CSS class for the body tag. You have "position: fixed;" which gives it a fixed position, thus making the entire body (and it's children) non-scrollable.

Okay, so how would I fix that so It would not mess with the background picture, but also be able to scroll up and down?
__________________
ISolveCubes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2015, 07:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,648
Default Re: Need help with website!

Removing the "position: fixed;" property (looks like Line 3 of your CSS file), the background isn't affected, at least in Chrome. The "background-attachment: fixed;" property does what you're thinking of; but you have that in the shorthanded "background" property already. So just remove Line 3 and it will scroll.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2015, 07:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Hyrule
Posts: 30
Default Re: Need help with website!

Wow! thanks a lot! It fixed it! So would you have any tips on how to position things in the page?
__________________
ISolveCubes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2015, 07:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,648
Default Re: Need help with website!

Nest your content inside of a new div in the body tag, with a class or ID of "content", and then create individual divs / sections (new in HTML5 I believe) so that content is separate.

E.g.
Code:
<body>
    <div class="content">
        <div class="section1">Nested content here...</div>
        <div class="section2">More nested content...</div>
        ...etc.
    </div>
</body>
Then apply the appropriate styles to the content / additional classes.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2015, 09:05 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Hyrule
Posts: 30
Default Re: Need help with website!

Okay! Thanks for all of the help! Believe it or not that actually helped a LOT!
__________________
ISolveCubes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2015, 09:30 PM   #10 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,648
Default Re: Need help with website!

No problem, glad to help.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FeedBack for my WebSite StevoTalks(HOME-WebSite) STUPID GEEK Web Graphics and Design 2 08-11-2006 11:01 PM
some website keeps popping up everytime i open a website ? NayNay1991x Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 05-08-2006 09:40 PM
Suggestions on website search words for this website Harper Web Graphics and Design 0 08-16-2005 01:06 AM
Website Database to Website? rollincatera Programming 3 12-28-2004 10:04 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.