Is making websites profitable enough to put time into? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > Web Graphics and Design
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread

Old 04-22-2007, 09:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie

Default Is making websites profitable enough to put time into?

I'm interested in making some websites and have some great ideas. The only thing hampering my progress is the question of whether or not making websites is decently profitable. What can i expect in terms of a profit from advertisers and affiliates in a standard website?

Also, i am completely new to creating websites and need to know about what programs and software I should familiarize myself with.

So far:

1)HTML
2)Photoshop

I'm looking for a program to aid in establishing a community with article posting, a ranking system based on differnent requirements, and other statistical information. So perhaps:

3) Drupal

Old 04-22-2007, 09:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie

Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: Is making websites profitable enough to put time into?

If you want to code websites from the ground up, you're going to need to know at least HTML, CSS, PHP (or another server-side language) and Javascript. You may not HAVE to know a server-side language, but if you want an easy-to-use site with lots of features you'll probably need it eventually.

As for making money, it depends on what approach you take. Are you planning on getting clients and then making them a website? That can be very profitable if you find the right people. Maybe between 50 to a couple hundred bucks depending on what they want and how good you are.

There are TONS of ways to get money from websites.

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
Old 04-22-2007, 09:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie