Looking for web design critique

Status
Not open for further replies.

murdocsvan

Web Programmer
Hey just finished working on my portfolio site (some content still needs updating). Just wondering if anyone could take a look at the design and layout and give some constructive critique?

www.tomsfolio.me

Thanks in advance

I like it :thumbsup: Simple and easy to navigate. I would add transition effects, like when you click on one tab, the other ones roll up or something and the page fades out. Not entirely sure if it's possible with HTML, but I have seen some amazing stuff done in the web languages :tongue:

Hey thanks man much appreciated. I had thought about the transition on the navigation, but now that someones suggested i'll defo give it a go. Thanks!

Normally I run through this section daily but I haven't had the time these past few weeks. If you still need a critique I'm happy to provide one.

Not being a dev I cant say much in that aspect. But I can say from a user standpoint the site looks good. It seems kinda small on my 22" monitor only taking up about 33% of the screen or so on a 1680x1050 resolution. You might want to let people know that clicking on your Resume is a download of a PDF file. Some people might be expecting to see it right on the site and not have a download coming to their PC that they are not expecting.

The transition from your page to your blog is unexpected. As stated above the layout is only using a small part of the screen, then i get redirected to a site that uses the full screen. I was thinking that the Blog would be wordpress or something that is already on site. Not some 3rd party Blog Hosting service. Plus the transition from a light colored scheme on your site to a dark colored scheme on your blog is kinda off putting.