Upgrading the OS on a mac... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Apple and Mac
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-15-2005, 01:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 38
Send a message via AIM to Halchka99 Send a message via Yahoo to Halchka99
Default Upgrading the OS on a mac...

A graphics designer at work wants to upgrade to OS X Tiger and I had a quick question.

Is upgrading the operating system as easy as just popping in the CD and following the screen?

Is there anything special that has to be done?

Thanks for your help.
__________________

__________________
Halchka99 is offline  
Old 08-15-2005, 01:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

just when you turn ot the comp with the cd hold c key that is how you boot to a cd on a mac.
__________________

__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 08-15-2005, 04:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default

well for matt it should work liek that. For tiger on apple says that all you need to do is pop that tigetr cd in and click on it on the desktop open it run it. and it should as the website said jsut upgrade. All your files will be saved and everything. It jsut upgrades it.
__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 08-15-2005, 05:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: /usr/root/mn/us
Posts: 1,118
Default

Yup, just pop in the CD and go.

I did that on my powerbood and everything went simple as cake.

::EDIT::

Actualy pop in the DVD and go :P
__________________

Its a frigging Laptop, not a Labtop!!!!
bla!! is offline  
Old 08-15-2005, 06:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 38
Send a message via AIM to Halchka99 Send a message via Yahoo to Halchka99
Default

awsome guys thanks for the quick replies.
__________________
Halchka99 is offline  
Old 08-16-2005, 08:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

we were puting on tiget on the emacs at school and we had to hit C four it to boot.
__________________

__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.