Transfering Data - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Apple and Mac
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-07-2006, 11:48 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9
Default

.....How do I enter target disk mode when I'm connected with 6pin to 6pin firewire?
__________________

MacAttack123 is offline  
Old 10-08-2006, 12:39 AM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9
Default

Okay, Here's what happens now. I put my broken computer in TDM and it goes into a blue screen with the firewire symbol dancing around the screen. Now It says when I do that my hard drive should show up on the working computer right away, but it dosn't.....any ideas as to why?
__________________

MacAttack123 is offline  
Old 10-08-2006, 12:58 AM   #13 (permalink)
The Original Mac User
 
mac_mogul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: America
Posts: 1,515
Default

To transfer files using FireWire:
Shut down the first computer and leave the second computer on.
Connect the two computers using a 6-pin to 6-pin FireWire cable. (If both computers have higher-speed FireWire 800 ports in addition to the standard FireWire 400 ports, you can use a 9-pin to 9-pin cable with the FireWire 800 ports to transfer data at higher speeds.)
Open System Preferences, click the Startup Disk, and click Target Disk Mode. (Or, start up the first computer while holding down the T key.)
A disk icon for the first computer appears on the desktop on the second computer. Drag files to and from the disk to transfer them.

When you finish, eject the first computer's disk by dragging its icon to the Trash. (While you drag, the Trash icon changes to an Eject icon.)
Push the power button on the first computer to shut it down and disconnect the FireWire cable.
__________________

17" MacBook Pro
2.3ghz Intel i7 // 8gb RAM
The older computer
2.53ghz Intel e7200 // 4gb HyperX // EVGA 9800 GTX 512mb // Win7
mac_mogul is offline  
Old 10-08-2006, 02:39 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9
Default

What computer do I put in TDM? And if it's the broken one. It still won't work. Does that mean the information on my hard drive is not comming back?
MacAttack123 is offline  
Old 10-08-2006, 05:38 PM   #15 (permalink)
The Original Mac User
 
mac_mogul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: America
Posts: 1,515
Default

Then you will have to take it to a professional to have the data recovered.
The data is not lost. Damaged disk or no, data doesn't just disappear.
__________________

__________________

17" MacBook Pro
2.3ghz Intel i7 // 8gb RAM
The older computer
2.53ghz Intel e7200 // 4gb HyperX // EVGA 9800 GTX 512mb // Win7
mac_mogul is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.