mac laptops

Status
Not open for further replies.

convergecult

In Runtime
ok im a college student and i have a desktop that i can run anything on but i am wanting an mac laptop for school. now it is only really going to be used for word processing, internet maybe basic things like i movie garage band or something. now ebay has hudreds have older mac's from 500mgz to 1ghz for anywhere from $250-600. if i get a g4 with lets say 600mhz processor and upgrade the ram to 512 or 1 gig will it be what im looking for? is it fast enough to do the simple things im wanting withought waiting 5 min for a program to load? i can not afford a new one so i am looking at the older ones... any help will be good thanks

GarageBand needs at LEAST 600mhz and shouldn't be used with LESS than 512mb RAM.

Get the best one you can find. Thats my advice. Don't go for price because you'll just get screwed over. (DUH!)

If you can get a 1ghz G4 with 1gb RAM, that would be perfect and it would last you quite a while.

be careful about buying computers/parts from ebay i've read a lot of bad experiences

Macbooks are great, just buy them new, the old iBooks are feinds at heating up (apple wants a silent pc, which is crap) there are apps that let you control fanspeed to control this

honestly, I wish I'd gotten a good desktop (or gotten more parts for my other desktop) and a mac, because HP suck at everything

so, GO, don't look back

Haha, whoa. I was gonna post a very similar thread to this, so I guess I'll just take the same advice as this guy... However, contrary to this guy, the best I can afford is probably a 600MHz iBook with 512MB RAM, and I would then probably upgrade the RAM to 1GB, and get a larger hard drive... Is this as easy to do as a PC? Can you just stick any generic Corsair or Kingston RAM in there, and any type of unpartitioned/unformatted hard drive?

WorldIndustries said: