17 inch iMac core 2 duo

Status
Not open for further replies.

Aesthetic

Baseband Member
I am most likely going to be buying one of these. I've been a PC user forever, and though I don't share quite the same enthusiasm as a lot of Apple lovers, I still do acknowledge the advantages of owning a Mac.

I'm a college student who listens to lots of music, movies, photos etc. Are these core 2 duo mac's worth purchasing? They seem fairly reasonably priced, and I like the space saving, sleek design.

Sorry but I am a rookie when it comes to Macs for the most part. I've used them in school for basic graphic related projects, but I don't really understand the OS as well as I do with Windows.

Is it true that I don't need any kind of virus or spyware programs if I own a Mac? And is it also true that the only processes that are running, are the actual programs that you want?

I was also curious about the Apple Care plan. One of my fears about getting an iMac as that since the monitor and computer are one, that some day in the near future the monitor will die out and then I will be screwed. Although the iMacs do have a VGA out which I can use to connect another monitor, it will just be a hassle. So, for the $119 is the Apple Care worth the money? Do they offer good service and protection?

Also, I've heard lots of different things related to the actual performance of iMacs in comparison to for instance, dell XPS. In the past supposedly Mac calculated processing speed differently than PC's did, but from what I have been told from an Apple representative, in terms of pure processing power, Windows based computers offer a lot more for the money? Would you guys say this is true?

In addition, I heard rumors that Apple was having problems when they switched over to Intel processors (at least with the laptops). Do you know if the desktops are having any issues with the new processors?