Wireless Router Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > Computer Networking and Internet Hardware
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-03-2007, 11:36 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 9
Red face Wireless Router Help

Help please!!!!

Right i tried to secure my wireless network using WPA. But after configuring the router. my internal wireless network wont connect to it or recognise the router full stop. the card itself is working fine because it picks up other networks ok. so i tried reinstalling the router in the hope that it would be back to a default setting but i cant even do that either because i need my wireless network card to recognise the router during installation to configure it.

My router is an Actiontec 54mpbs cable/dsl router and my wireless card is a Ralinkrt2500 wireless lan card which i cant update from the website because i cant find it!!!

Thanks in advance!!
__________________

__________________
davyo is offline  
Old 04-03-2007, 11:50 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 319
Send a message via AIM to BoysNightOut
Default Re: Wireless Router Help

What exactly did you change on the routers configuration. perhaps it was IP related? If so, you might have disallowed your PC to get a valid IP to the router and therefore block its internet connection entirely.

Tell us what you changed. What it was set to before, what is different now. Maybe then we can help more in reducing your problem to an easy solution.
__________________

__________________
AMD 3400+ 2.4GHz
1GB DDR Crucial RAM
WD 120GB(2x)/250GB
BoysNightOut is offline  
Old 04-03-2007, 11:54 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 9
Default Re: Wireless Router Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by BoysNightOut View Post
What exactly did you change on the routers configuration. perhaps it was IP related? If so, you might have disallowed your PC to get a valid IP to the router and therefore block its internet connection entirely.

Tell us what you changed. What it was set to before, what is different now. Maybe then we can help more in reducing your problem to an easy solution.

it was in the wpa settings box which wasn't set, and i also changed the channel name from actiontec to davyo!!!
__________________
davyo is offline  
Old 04-03-2007, 01:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Wireless Router Help

make sure your wireless reciever is wpa capable mine was only wep capable so i borught a nice netgear one
__________________
Nick is offline  
Old 04-03-2007, 02:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 319
Send a message via AIM to BoysNightOut
Default Re: Wireless Router Help

Try using the router's hard reset button. There should be one on the router somewhere to restore it back to factory defaults, start over and try again perhaps. Hold down for a few secs then release, it should power cycle.
__________________
AMD 3400+ 2.4GHz
1GB DDR Crucial RAM
WD 120GB(2x)/250GB
BoysNightOut is offline  
Old 04-03-2007, 02:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 79
Default Re: Wireless Router Help

I've seen this happen many times before. Chances are the wireless card in your PC isn't WPA compatible. Try searching the internet to see if there are any updates for the driver, sometimes that helps.
__________________
ZenOswyn is offline  
Old 04-03-2007, 02:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Wireless Router Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZenOswyn View Post
Chances are the wireless card in your PC isn't WPA compatible. T.

exactly what i said
__________________
Nick is offline  
Old 04-03-2007, 07:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 319
Send a message via AIM to BoysNightOut
Default Re: Wireless Router Help

Just set it to WEP. It works good enough for home networks.
__________________
AMD 3400+ 2.4GHz
1GB DDR Crucial RAM
WD 120GB(2x)/250GB
BoysNightOut is offline  
Old 04-04-2007, 05:17 AM   #9 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Wireless Router Help

WEP is extremely easy to hack, it is an old kind of encryption where as WPA is much newer
__________________
Nick is offline  
Old 04-04-2007, 07:42 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 319
Send a message via AIM to BoysNightOut
Default Re: Wireless Router Help

Yes, WPA is far superior for encryption. However, if it's all he has available, WEP should serve his purpose well enough, or he can upgrade if he's that worried about it.
__________________

__________________
AMD 3400+ 2.4GHz
1GB DDR Crucial RAM
WD 120GB(2x)/250GB
BoysNightOut is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reforwarding router weirdopeanut Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 1 03-31-2007 08:26 PM
Vista & my Wireless Network motoxer4533 Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-31-2007 07:58 PM
2 Router setup...possible? BoysNightOut Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 13 03-31-2007 05:37 PM
Alternative to wireless zero service? ainstushar Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 9 03-31-2007 12:47 PM
Linksys router not working anymore Stand and Fight Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 14 03-25-2007 01:29 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.