Wireless Router And Downloading Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > Computer Networking and Internet Hardware
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-07-2006, 10:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 261
Default Wireless Router And Downloading Question

ok i just got and hooked up my new wireless router today its the ZyXEL X-550 XtremeMIMO Wireless Broadband Router..im having some problems i download using bittorrent and i had no real problems with my last router except that when i downloaded alot it froze up and got sluggish..now i did all the port fowarding and i started downloading and not only does it seem a little slower downloading speed wise but after a little bit i get disconnected from my wireless connection and all other pcs on the network do to then in a few seconds or min in reconnects and when it does my download speed gets superfast shortly after...what does everyone think the problem is and how can i fix it is there some settings i need to change..im not so smart when it comes to routers and wireless stuff..but i know to foward my ports and i did that just like i did with the last router..pleaseeee someone help i need to know if i need to return this router and get a new one
__________________

iamloco724 is offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 01:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

You need to check if you have the latest firmware. If the problem is with having the latest firmware then a tech support will ask you to replace the router or downgrade to an earlier firmware that is stable.

*Edit: You might also want to turn DHCP off, and just manually configure each computer the IP address, subnet mask, default gateway and DNS.
__________________

Law is offline  
Old 07-08-2006, 02:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 261
Default

ok i upgraded the firmware and downgraded still same problemplease tell me in detail how to do the dhcp thing
iamloco724 is offline  
Old 07-10-2006, 12:28 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 24
Default

sounds like your access point may have tossed in the towel. That doesn't sound like an ordinary software problem. As for dhcp, somewhere in the access point configuration there should be an option for serving ip address dynamically (dhcp), or turning off the dhcp server. Turn it off. Then go into network connections (windows machine, right?), and go to properties and TCP/IP settings and statically set your addresses. It's not a very graceful solution, but whatever gets the job done.
ibarrere is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.