wireless help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Internet > Computer Networking and Internet Hardware
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-27-2006, 10:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Default wireless help

i need help with my wireless connection! when i set up my usb wireless adapter it can connect to the network but its not picking up the routers settings not letting me connect to the internet. i have another computer that works fine with the wireless. as i am using it now. i have also noticed that my network controllers drivers arent installed witch is really weird because i never uninstalled it. and i am wondering if maybe that is causeing my problems. my LAN is on the motherboard and its an asus P4S800D-X
__________________

Dargor45 is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 11:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
LA1
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: eastcoast
Posts: 453
Default

OK OK
Lets take this one step at a time
Quote:
network controllers drivers
What do you mean by this ? are you refering to your NIC for the lan or your WI FI for the WLAN ?

Do you have any encryption set in the router for the WI FI ?
__________________

__________________
LA1 is offline  
Old 12-29-2006, 12:49 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Default

no encryption for the wifi and i got the controller issue fixed. Now i just need my wireless adapter to pick up the router settings so that it can connect to the internet. it connects to the network its just not picking up the gateway dns ip and MAC of the router and i dont know how to get those settings on to the wireless computer. the message i get is limited/no connectivity when it connects to the network. i run the ipconfig but it picks up nothing that is remotely close to those settings
Dargor45 is offline  
Old 12-29-2006, 11:18 AM   #4 (permalink)
LA1
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: eastcoast
Posts: 453
Default

Do you have a firewall running on your notebook, even the winsows built in ?

click start
the run
type in ncpa.cpl
hit enter or click ok

highlight your WI FI
right click
click props
scroll down to tcp ip
highlight
click props
make sure the radio button for obtain automatically is selected for both tcp and dns

... the big question if you connect with a cat 5 cable to the notebook can you hit the internet ?
__________________
LA1 is offline  
Old 12-29-2006, 01:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Default

srry i didnt specify. its a desktop not a notebook. as for the direct connection. I am unable to direct connect at the moment
Dargor45 is offline  
Old 12-29-2006, 04:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
LA1
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: eastcoast
Posts: 453
Default

ok
__________________

__________________
LA1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.